Cabinet and Ministers

The Scottish Cabinet

The Cabinet is the main decision-making body of the Scottish Government. It is made up of the First Minister and all Cabinet Secretaries. The Permanent Secretary attends Cabinet meetings as Secretary to the Cabinet. The Minister for Parliamentary Business is not a member, but attends weekly to discuss forthcoming business in the Parliament. The Lord Advocate is not a member, but attends when required to provide legal advice and to represent her ministerial interests. Cabinet meetings are held weekly in Bute House, Edinburgh while parliament is sitting, and may also be held at other times in locations throughout Scotland.

Law Officers

The Lord Advocate and Solicitor General are the principal legal advisers to the Scottish Government.

Back to top