Scottish Health Survey 2017 - volume one: main report

Presents results for the Scottish Health Survey 2017, providing information on the health and factors relating to health of people living in Scotland.

This document is part of a collection

Editors' acknowledgements

Firstly we would like to thank the 3,697 adults and 1,603 children across Scotland for giving up their time to participate in the 2017 survey and for welcoming our interviewers into their home.

We would also like to thank those colleagues who contributed to the survey and this report. In particular we would like to thank:

  • The interviewers who worked on the project. The success of the survey is in large part down to the commitment and professionalism they apply to their work every day.
  • Isla Dougall, for her meticulous work on the Scottish Health Survey this year.
  • The authors of the chapters: Diana Bardsley, Lucy Dean, Isla Dougall, Vera Feng, Linsay Gray, Malin Karikoski, Joe Rose, Caroline Stevens, Alastair H Leyland.
  • Laura Brown, whose hard work, attention to detail, knowledge and expertise have been invaluable to the preparation of the survey data as well as her extensive analysis input to the report.
  • Diarmid Campbell-Jack, Stephen Hinchliffe and Joe Rose for all their work in developing and launching the 2017 survey.
  • Other research colleagues and partners, in particular: Stephen Hinchliffe, Lucy Dean, Lesley Birse, Andy MacGregor (ScotCen Social Research); Emma Bowey, Kirsty Driscoll (NatCen Social Research); Aziz Sheikh (The University of Edinburgh); Geraldine McNeil (University of Aberdeen).
  • Emma Fenn and colleagues in the NatCen Social Research Operations team.
  • The area manager Julie Foster, field performance managers Janette Read, Iain McKay and Claire Hamilton as well as Jo Taylor, National Field Nurse Manager, Stephen Booth, Sue Roche and Chris Bryan.
  • The principal programmer, Iain Templeton.
  • Bryan Mason and the team of dedicated coders.
  • The Survey Doctor, Dr Sangeeta Dhami.

We would also like to express our thanks to Julie Fletcher, Helen Snowden and Dr Chris Shaw of the Freeman Hospital, Newcastle, to the laboratory staff at the Royal Victoria Infirmary, Newcastle, and to Dr Mira Doig and colleagues at ABS Laboratories in Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire, for their continuing helpfulness and efficiency in processing and analysing the saliva and urine samples on the study.

Ethical approval for the study was granted by the Research Committee for Wales (12/WA/0261). We are grateful to the committee, and its co-ordinator Dr Corrine Scott, for their careful scrutiny and on-going support.

Finally, special thanks are due to Julie Landsberg, Scott Jackson, Morag Shepherd, Jamie Robertson, Ben Cook and colleagues in the Scottish Government Health Directorates, for their continued support at all stages of the project.

Joanne McLean, Shanna Christie, Stephen Hinchliffe and Lindsay Gray.


Back to top