COVID-19 Education Recovery Group


This group is no longer active.

The Group will:

  • bring together decision makers and key influencers to ensure that the delivery of childcare, early learning and education maintains a strong focus on excellence and equity for all, within the necessary constraints of the COVID-19 response
  • provide leadership and advice to ministers and local government leaders in developing the strategic approach to the response and recovery of the ELC and education system
  • work across organisational and structural boundaries to support the response and recovery efforts
  • consider and provide advice on any proposed changes in Scottish education strategy, taking into account any long-term effects of the COVID-19 response
  • be a forum for frank and open discussion about what is working and what and where more improvement is required


  • Shirley-Ann Somerville MSP, Cabinet Secretary for Education and Skills (chair)
  • Stephen McCabe, Convention of Scottish Local Authorities (CoSLA), Children and Young People spokesperson (co-chair)
  • Clare Haughey MSP, Minister for Children and Young People
  • Alison Cumming, Scottish Government, Director of Early Learning & Childcare
  • Douglas Hutchison, Association of Directors of Education in Scotland (ADES), President
  • Laura Caven, Convention of Scottish Local Authorities (CoSLA)
  • Fiona Robertson, Scottish Qualifications Authority (SQA), Chief Executive
  • Gayle Gorman, Education Scotland, Chief Executive of Education Scotland and Chief Inspector of Education
  • Gillian Hamilton, Education Scotland, Strategic Director
  • Graeme Logan, Scottish Government, Director of Learning
  • Greg Dempster, Association of Headteachers and Deputes in Scotland (AHDS), General Secretary
  • Jane Brumpton, Early Years Scotland, Chief Executive
  • Jim Thewliss, School Leaders Scotland (SLS), General Secretary
  • Margaret Wilson, National Parent Forum of Scotland (NPFS), Chair
  • Dr Grace Vickers, Chief Exective, Midlothian Council
  • Pauline Stephen, General Teaching Council for Scotland (GTCS), Chief Executive
  • Larry Flanagan, Educational Institute of Scotland (EIS), General Secretary
  • Sam Anson, Scottish Government, Improvement, Attainment and Wellbeing
  • Sheena Devlin, Perth & Kinross Council, Executive Director
  • Kay Sillars, Regional Manager (UNISON)
  • Liam Fowley, Scottish Youth Parliament, Vice Chair


Back to top