COVID-19 Education Recovery Group minutes: 13 July 2020

Minutes and papers from 13 July 2020 meeting of the COVID-19 Education Recovery Group.

Attendees and apologies


  • John Swinney MSP, Deputy First Minister and Cabinet Secretary for Education and Skills (Chair)
  • Councillor McCabe, Children and Young People spokesperson, Convention of Scottish Local Authorities – CoSLA (Co-Chair)
  • Eddie Follan, Chief Officer, Children and Young People (CoSLA)
  • Graeme Logan, Director of Learning, Scottish Government
  • Simon Mair, Head of Delivery Assurance, Scottish Government
  • Andy Drought, Deputy Director of Workforce, Infrastructure and Reform, Scottish Government
  • Jim McMenamin, Interim Clinical Director in Health Protection and Consultant Epidemiologist in Public Health Medicine
  • Jane Brumpton, Chief Executive, Early Years Scotland
  • Greg Dempster, General Secretary, Association of Headteachers and Deputes in Scotland (AHDS)
  • Larry Flanagan, General Secretary, Educational Institute of Scotland (EIS)
  • John Gallacher, Regional Manager (UNISON)
  • Gillian Hamilton, Strategic Director, Education Scotland
  • Carrie Lindsay, President, Association of Directors of Education in Scotland (ADES)
  • Ken Muir, Chief Executive, General Teaching Council for Scotland (GTCS)
  • Joanna Murphy, Chair, National Parent Forum of Scotland (NPFS)
  • Jim Thewliss, General Secretary, School Leaders Scotland (SLS)
  • Maria Walker, Strategic Director, Education Scotland
  • Frank Strang, Deputy Director, Scottish Government
  • Karen Reid, Chief Executive, Perth & Kinross Council 
  • Gill Stewart, SQA director of qualifications development
  • Jane O’Donnell, Head of Policy, Convention of Scottish Local Authorities (CoSLA)  


  • Sheena Devlin, Executive Director, Perth & Kinross Council (ADES)
  • Fiona Robertson, Chief Executive, Scottish Qualifications Authority (SQA)
  • Gayle Gorman, Chief Executive and Chief Inspector, Education Scotland
Back to top