COVID-19 Education Recovery Group minutes: 3 September 2020

Minutes and papers from 3 September 2020 meeting of the COVID-19 Education Recovery Group.

Attendees and apologies


  • John Swinney MSP, Deputy First Minister and Cabinet Secretary for Education and Skills (Chair) 
  • Councillor McCabe, Children and Young People spokesperson, Convention of Scottish Local Authorities – CoSLA (Co-Chair) 
  • Maree Todd MSP, Minister for Children and Young People
  • Andy Drought, Deputy Director of Workforce, Infrastructure and Reform, Scottish Government
  • Greg Dempster, General Secretary, Association of Headteachers and Deputes in Scotland (AHDS)
  • Larry Flanagan, General Secretary, Educational Institute of Scotland (EIS)
  • Carrie Lindsay, President, Association of Directors of Education in Scotland (ADES)
  • Ken Muir, Chief Executive, General Teaching Council for Scotland (GTCS)
  • Joanna Murphy, Chair, National Parent Forum of Scotland (NPFS)
  • Jim Thewliss, General Secretary, School Leaders Scotland (SLS)
  • Maria Walker, Strategic Director, Education Scotland
  • Gayle Gorman, Chief Executive and Chief Inspector, Education Scotland
  • Alison Cumming, Director of Early Learning and Childcare, Scottish Government
  • Diane Stockton, Social and System Recovery Programme Lead, Public Health Scotland (PHS)
  • Fiona Robertson, Chief Executive, Scottish Qualifications Authority (SQA)
  • Graeme Logan, Director of Learning, Scottish Government
  • Mick Wilson Deputy Director of Education Analytical Services, Scottish Government 
  • Sheena Devlin, Executive Director, Perth & Kinross Council (ADES)
  • Sam Anson, Deputy Director of Improvement, Attainment and Wellbeing, Scottish Government 
  • Gillian Hamilton, Strategic Director, Education Scotland
  • Jane Brumpton, Chief Executive, Early Years Scotland
  • John Gallacher, UNISON
  • Matthew Sweeney, Policy Manager  - Children and Young People, CoSLA
  • Lynda Fenton, PHS


  • Elizabeth Morrison, Deputy Director, Scottish Government
Back to top