COVID-19 Education Recovery Group minutes: 12 November 2020

Minutes and papers from 12 November 2020 meeting of the COVID-19 Education Recovery Group.

Attendees and apologies


  • John Swinney MSP, Deputy First Minister and Cabinet Secretary for Education and Skills (Chair)   
  • Councillor Stephen McCabe, Children and Young People spokesperson, Convention of Scottish Local Authorities (COSLA)  
  • Maree Todd MSP, Minister for Children and Young People  
  • Sam Anson, Deputy Director, Improvement Attainment & Wellbeing, Scottish Government  
  • Ellen Leaver, Early Learning and Childcare Directorate, Scottish Government 
  • Sheena Devlin, Executive Director, Perth & Kinross Council (ADES)  
  • Greg Dempster, General Secretary, Association of Headteachers and Deputes in Scotland (AHDS) 
  • Larry Flanagan, General Secretary, Educational Institute of Scotland (EIS)  
  • Eddie Follan, Convention of Scottish Local Authorities (COSLA)  
  • Matthew Sweeney, Convention of Scottish Local Authorities (COSLA)  
  • John Gallacher, Regional Manager (UNISON)   
  • Gayle Gorman, Chief Executive and Chief Inspector, Education Scotland  
  • Carrie Lindsay, President, Association of Directors of Education in Scotland (ADES)  
  • Ken Muir, Chief Executive, General Teaching Council for Scotland (GTCS)  
  • Diane Stockton, Public Health Scotland  
  • Gillian Hamilton, Strategic Director, Education Scotland 
  • Jim Thewliss, General Secretary, School Leaders Scotland (SLS)  
  • Jane Brumpton, Chief Executive, Early Years Scotland    
  • Janie McManus, Strategic Director, Education Scotland  
  • Margaret Wilson, Chair, National Parent Forum of Scotland (NPFS) 
  • Fiona Robertson,Chief Executive, SQA    
  • Andrew Drought, Deputy Director for Workforce, Infrastructure & Reform, Scottish Government   
  • Liam Fowley MSYP, Vice Chair, Scottish Youth Parliament  
  • Karen Reid, Chief Executive, Perth and Kinross Council
  • Gary Sutton, Education Analytical Services, Scottish Government


  • Graeme Logan, Director of Learning, Scottish Government  
Back to top