COVID-19 Education Recovery Group minutes: 5 November 2020

Minutes and papers from 5 November 2020 meeting of the COVID-19 Education Recovery Group.

Attendees and apologies


  • John Swinney MSP, Deputy First Minister and Cabinet Secretary for Education and Skills (Chair) 
  • Councillor Stephen McCabe, Children and Young People spokesperson, Convention of Scottish Local Authorities (COSLA)
  • Maree Todd MSP, Minister for Children and Young People
  • Sam Anson, Deputy Director, Scottish Government
  • Alison Cumming, Interim Director for Early Learning and Childcare, Scottish Government
  • Tim Wallace, Association of Headteachers and Deputes in Scotland (AHDS)
  • Sheena Devlin, Executive Director, Perth & Kinross Council (ADES)
  • Greg Dempster, General Secretary, Association of Headteachers and Deputes in Scotland (AHDS)
  • Graeme Logan, Director of Learning, Scottish Government
  • Larry Flanagan, General Secretary, Educational Institute of Scotland (EIS)
  • Eddie Follan, Convention of Scottish Local Authorities (COSLA)
  • John Gallacher, Regional Manager (UNISON) 
  • Gayle Gorman, Chief Executive and Chief Inspector, Education Scotland
  • Carrie Lindsay, President, Association of Directors of Education in Scotland (ADES)
  • Ken Muir, Chief Executive, General Teaching Council for Scotland (GTCS)
  • Diane Stockton, Public Health Scotland
  • Gillian Hamilton, Strategic Director, Education Scotland
  • Jim Thewliss, General Secretary, School Leaders Scotland (SLS)
  • Jane Brumpton, Chief Executive, Early Years Scotland   
  • Janie McManus, Strategic Director, Education Scotland
  • Margaret Wilson, Chair, National Parent Forum of Scotland (NPFS)
  • Fiona Robertson, Chief Executive, SQA  
  • Andrew Drought, Deputy Director for Workforce, Infrastructure & Reform, Scottish Government  
  • Liam Fowley, Children and Young Person’s Representative, Scottish Youth Parliament
Back to top