COVID-19 Education Recovery Group minutes: 30 October 2020

Minutes and papers from 30 October 2020 meeting of the COVID-19 Education Recovery Group.

Attendees and apologies


  • John Swinney MSP, Deputy First Minister and Cabinet Secretary for Education and Skills (Chair) 

  • Councillor Stephen McCabe, Children and Young People spokesperson, Convention of Scottish Local Authorities (COSLA)

  • Fiona Robertson, Chief Executive, SQA  

  • Graeme Logan, Director of Learning, Scottish Government  

  • Sam Anson, Deputy Director, Scottish Government

  • Alison Cumming, Interim Director for Early Learning and Childcare, Scottish Government  

  • Andrew Drought, Deputy Director for Workforce, Infrastructure & Reform, Scottish Government  

  • Sheena Devlin, Executive Director, Perth & Kinross Council (ADES)

  • Larry Flanagan, General Secretary, Educational Institute of Scotland (EIS)

  • Greg Dempster, General Secretary, Association of Headteachers and Deputes in Scotland (AHDS)

  • Gillian Hamilton,

  • Hazel Bartels, Head of Curriculum unit, Scottish Government  

  • Eddie Follan, Convention of Scottish Local Authorities (COSLA)

  • Matthew Sweeney, Convention of Scottish Local Authorities (COSLA)

  • John Gallacher, Regional Manager (UNISON) 

  • Gayle Gorman, Chief Executive and Chief Inspector, Education Scotland

  • Carrie Lindsay, President, Association of Directors of Education in Scotland (ADES)

  • Ken Muir, Chief Executive, General Teaching Council for Scotland (GTCS)

  • Karen Reid, Perth and Kinross Council, Director of Education

  • Jim Thewliss, General Secretary, School Leaders Scotland (SLS)

  • Gary Sutton, Statistician, Scottish Government  

  • Jane Brumpton, Chief Executive, Early Years Scotland   

  • Janie McManus, Strategic Director, Education Scotland

  • Margaret Wilson, Chair, National Parent Forum of Scotland (NPFS)


  • Mick Wilson, Deputy Director, Scottish Government 
  • Gillian Hamilton, Strategic Director, Education Scotland 



Back to top