Scottish Health Survey 2014 - volume 1: main report

Presents results for the Scottish Health Survey 2014, providing information on the health and factors relating to health of people living in Scotland.

Editors' acknowledgements

We firstly wish to thank the 4,659 adults and 1,668 children across Scotland for giving up their time to take part in the 2014 survey and for welcoming our interviewers into their home.

We would also like to thank those colleagues who contributed to the survey and this report. In particular we would like to thank:

  • The interviewers who worked on the project. The success of the survey is in large part down to the commitment and professionalism they apply to their work every day.
  • The authors of the chapters: Laura Brown, Shanna Dowling, Valdeep Gill, Linsay Gray, Nevena Ilic, Hayley Lepps and Alastair Leyland.
  • Joan Corbett and Laura Brown, whose hard work and expertise have been crucial in preparing the survey data, and for conducting much of the analysis in this report.
  • Other research colleagues, in particular: Lisa Rutherford, Lesley Birse, Andy MacGregor, Jamie Barclay (ScotCen Social Research); Rachel Craig, Sean Willmott (NatCen Social Research); Mor Kandlik Eltanani (ScotCen Social Research / University of Edinburgh).
  • Emma Fenn and colleagues in the NatCen Social Research Operations team.
  • The area manager Julie Foster, field performance managers Claire Hamilton, Susan Mason and Ross McManus, as well as Christine Bidwell and Sue Nash and her team of nurse supervisors.
  • The principal programmer, Iain Templeton.
  • The Survey Doctor, Dr Sangeeta Dhami.

We would also like to express our thanks Dr Linda Wilson of the Freeman Hospital, Newcastle, and the laboratory staff at the Royal Victoria Infirmary, Newcastle, and to Dr Colin Feyerabend and colleagues at ABS Laboratories in Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire, for their continuing helpfulness and efficiency in processing and analysing the saliva and urine samples on the study.

Ethical approval for the study was granted by the Research Committee for Wales (12/WA/0261). We are grateful to the committee, and its co-ordinator Dr Corrine Scott, for their careful scrutiny and on-going support.

Finally, special thanks are due to Julie Landsberg, Craig Kellock, Daniel Adams and colleagues in the Scottish Government Health Directorates, for their continued support at all stages of the project.

Diarmid Campbell-Jack, Stephen Hinchliffe and Catherine Bromley


Email: Julie Landsberg

Back to top