Scottish Health Survey 2016 - volume 1: main report

Statistics relating to the health of people living in Scotland.

This document is part of a collection

Editors’ acknowledgements

Firstly we would like to thank the 4,323 adults and 1,561 children across Scotland for giving up their time to participate in the 2016 survey and for welcoming our interviewers into their home.

We would also like to thank those colleagues who contributed to the survey and this report. In particular we would like to thank:

  • The interviewers who worked on the project. The success of the survey is in large part down to the commitment and professionalism they apply to their work every day.
  • Anna Terje, for her hard work on the Scottish Health Survey this year.
  • The authors of the chapters: Linsay Gray, Alastair H Leyland, Eilidh Currie, Ian Montagu, Diana Bardsley, Anna Terje, Alice Calder, Suzanne Hill and Keeva Rooney.
  • Laura Brown, whose hard work, attention to detail and expertise have been crucial in preparing the survey data, and for conducting much of the analysis in this report.
  • Other research colleagues and partners, in particular: Stephen Hinchliffe, Lisa Rutherford, Lesley Birse, Andy MacGregor (ScotCen Social Research); Emma Bowey, Sophie Brown, Matt Jonas, Leigh Marshall (NatCen Social Research); Aziz Sheikh (The University of Edinburgh); Geraldine McNeil (University of Aberdeen).
  • Emma Fenn and colleagues in the NatCen Social Research Operations team.
  • The area manager Julie Foster, field performance managers Janette Read, Deborah Healy, Ross McManus, Iain McKay and Claire Hamilton as well as Jo Taylor, National Field Nurse Manager, Steve Booth, Sue Nash, Betty Partington and Julia Sharp.
  • The principal programmer, Iain Templeton.
  • Bryan Mason and the team of dedicated coders.
  • The Survey Doctor, Dr Sangeeta Dhami.

We would also like to express our thanks Mrs Julie Fletcher of the Freeman Hospital, Newcastle, and the laboratory staff at the Royal Victoria Infirmary, Newcastle, and to Dr Colin Feyerabend and colleagues at ABS Laboratories in Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire, for their continuing helpfulness and efficiency in processing and analysing the saliva and urine samples on the study.

Ethical approval for the study was granted by the Research Committee for Wales (12/WA/0261). We are grateful to the committee, and its co-ordinator Dr Corrine Scott, for their careful scrutiny and on-going support.

Finally, special thanks are due to Julie Landsberg, Andrew Patterson, Scott Jackson, Jamie Robertson and colleagues in the Scottish Government Health Directorates, for their continued support at all stages of the project.

Joanne McLean, Shanna Christie and Linsay Gray


Email: Julie Landsberg, Julie Landsberg

Phone: 0300 244 4000 – Central Enquiry Unit

The Scottish Government
St Andrew's House
Regent Road

Back to top