If not now, when? - Social Renewal Advisory Board report: January 2021

The Social Renewal Advisory Board was set up by Scottish Ministers to make proposals that can renew Scotland once we start to emerge from the pandemic. The final report “If not now, when?”, sets a course towards this future.

Annex A - Board Membership

With the exception of representatives from COSLA and SOLACE, members of the Board were not invited as representative of their organisations or sectors, but in recognition of the individual contribution they could make.

The Board was chaired for the first phase of its work by Aileen Campbell MSP, Cabinet Secretary for Communities and Local Government and Shirley-Anne Somerville MSP, Cabinet Secretary for Social Security and Older People.

Cllr Alison Evison, President, Convention of Scottish Local Authorities also attended Board meetings during the first phase, with Cllr Elena Whitham also participating on an occasional basis.

Tressa Burke, Chief Executive Officer of Glasgow Disability Alliance, Depute Chair of Ministerial Expert Group - Disability and Carers' Benefits Expert Advisory Group, member of National PB Strategic Group and member of the First Minister's National Advisory Council on Women and Girls

Eileen Cawley, Administrator/Development Officer at the Scottish Pensioners Forum and Member of the Scottish Government Cross Party Group on Older People, Age and Ageing, the Cross Party Group on Funerals and Bereavement and the Older People's Strategic Action Forum

Etienne d'Aboville, Chief Executive of the Glasgow Centre for Inclusive Living and member of the Scottish Government's Disability and Carers' Benefits Expert Advisory Group

Lindsay Graham, Member of the Poverty and Inequality Commission and member of the Scotland Committee of National Lottery

Angela O'Hagan, Reader in Equalities and Public Policy and Deputy Director of the Wise Centre for Economic Justice at Glasgow Caledonian University; Chair of the Scottish Government Equalities Budget Advisory Group

Anna Fowlie, Chief Executive of Scottish Council for Voluntary Organisations

Fiona Lees, Chief Executive of East Ayrshire Council and representing Society of Local Authority Chief Executives (SOLACE)

Louise Macdonald, Chief Executive of Young Scot and Co-Chair of the First Minister's National Advisory Council on Women and Girls

Lisa Maclean, Chief Executive of Urras Oighreachd Ghabhsainn

Jim McCormick, Chief Executive of the Robertson Trust and Chair of the Edinburgh Poverty Commission

Neil McInroy, Chief Executive of the Centre for Local Economic Strategies

Susan McPhee, Formerly of Citizens Advice Scotland

Satwat Rehman, Director of One Parent Families Scotland and member of the First Minister's Advisory Council on Women and Girls

Emma Ritch, Executive Director of Engender and member of the First Minister's Advisory Council on Women and Girls

Bill Scott, Senior Policy Advisor at Inclusion Scotland and Chair of the Poverty and Inequality Commission

Maureen Sier, Director of Interfaith Scotland and trustee of the Interfaith Network for the UK (IFN)

Leigh Sparks, Deputy Principal and Professor of Retail Studies at University of Stirling, Chair of Scotland's Towns Partnership

Jon Sparkes, Chief Executive of Crisis and a member of Scottish Government's Homelessness Prevention and Strategy Group. Also a member of the UK Government's Rough Sleeping Advisory Panel, and previously Chair of both the Scottish Government's Homelessness and Rough Sleeping Action Group and the Welsh Government's Homelessness Action Group

Sally Thomas, Chief Executive Scottish Federation of Housing Associations, member of the Homelessness Prevention Strategy Group and the Stewarding Group of Scotland's Climate Assembly

Sabir Zazai, Chief Executive of Scottish Refugee Council


Email: socialrenewal@gov.scot

Back to top