Emergency Department signposting/ redirection guidance

Best practice guidance for Emergency Departments to ensure people are being seen by the right person in the right place for their healthcare need.

Appendix A – Emergency Department Signposting/Redirection Short Life Working Group Members

This Short Life Working Group was commissioned by the Alternatives to admission workstream, chaired by Craig Cunningham, Head of Commissioning and Performance, South Lanarkshire Health and Social Care Partnership and Eddie Fraser, Director, East Ayrshire, Health and Social Care Partnership.


  • Gerry Mooney - Unscheduled Care National Improvement Advisor, Scottish Government – Chair of the Short Life Working Group

  • Dr Caitriona Considine - Emergency Department Clinical Lead Consultant, GRI, NHS Greater Glasgow & Clyde
  • Dr Ronald Cook - Consultant Emergency Physician, Clinical Director, NHS Tayside
  • Ashleigh Irons - Interim Lead Nurse, Glasgow Royal Infirmary, NHS Greater Glasgow & Clyde
  • Moranne MacGillivray - Service Manager Acute Medicine, Emergency Department & Out of Hours Raigmore Hospital, NHS Highland
  • Alison Noonan - Unscheduled Care Programme Manager, NHS Greater Glasgow & Clyde
  • Dr Michael Rennie - Clinical Director, Emergency Medicine, Raigmore Hospital, NHS Highland
  • Dr Michael Rennie - Clinical Director, Emergency Medicine, Raigmore Hospital, NHS Highland
  • Mr John Thomson - Vice President (Scotland) RCEM, NHS Grampian
  • Dr Michelle Watts - Clinical Advisor, Primary Care Directorate Scottish Government


  • Danielle Brooks - Policy Officer, Unscheduled Care
  • Heather Mackay - Senior Policy Officer, Unscheduled Care
  • Marese O'Reilly - Project Manager, Unscheduled Care
  • Amanda Trolland - Programme Manager, Unscheduled Care
  • Merrell Veitch - Project Support Officer, Unscheduled Care


Email: jessica.milne@gov.scot

Back to top