Guide to information published by the Scottish Government

Guide to information that we make available. This was last updated in January 2019.

Guide to information: classes of information

The model publication scheme we have adopted requires us to publish information in the following categories or classes:

Class 1: about us

Information about the authority, who we are, where to find us, how to contact us, how we are managed and our external relations.

Class 2: how we deliver our functions and services

Information about our work, our strategy and policies for delivering functions and services and information for our service users.

Class 3: how we take our decisions and what we decided

Information about the decisions we take, how we make decisions and how we involve others.

Class 4: what we spend and how we spend it

Information about our strategy for, and management of, financial resources.

Class 5: how we manage our human, physical and information resources

Human resources

Physical resources

Information resources

Class 6: how we procure our goods and services from external providers

Information about how we procure works, goods and services, and our contracts with external providers.

Class 7: how we are performing

Information about how we perform as an organisation, and how well we deliver our functions and services.

Class 8: our commercial publications


Class 9: our open data



Freedom of Information Unit
Scottish Government
St Andrew's House - 2W
Regent Road

Back to top