Coronavirus (COVID-19) business support measures: evaluation

This evaluation assesses the outputs and indicative outcomes of the COVID-19 business support measures available in Scotland up to summer 2021.

Annex 3: RESAS Classification of Urban and Rural Local Authorities

The RESAS Classification classifies local authorities according to their level of rurality and establishes four different groups, which are labelled as "Islands and Remote", "Mainly Rural", "Urban with Substantial Rural" and "Larger Cities". The "Islands and Remote" and "Mainly Rural" categories are classed as "Rural". The "Urban with Substantial Rural" and "Larger Cities" categories are classed as "Urban".

RESAS Classification/Local Authority


Islands and Remote

  • Argyll and Bute
  • Na h-Eileanan Siar
  • Orkney Islands
  • Shetland Islands

Mainly Rural

  • Aberdeenshire
  • Angus
  • Clackmannanshire
  • Dumfries and Galloway
  • East Ayrshire
  • East Lothian
  • Highland
  • Moray
  • Perth and Kinross
  • Scottish Borders
  • South Ayrshire


Urban and Substantial Rural

  • East Dunbartonshire
  • East Renfrewshire
  • Falkirk
  • Fife
  • Inverclyde
  • Midlothian
  • North Ayrshire
  • North Lanarkshire
  • Renfrewshire
  • South Lanarkshire
  • Stirling
  • West Dunbartonshire
  • West Lothian

Larger Cities

  • Aberdeen City
  • City of Edinburgh
  • Dundee City
  • Glasgow City



Back to top