The best start: five-year plan for maternity and neonatal care

A five-year forward plan for the improvement of maternity and neonatal services in Scotland.

Appendix B: Maternity Units In Scotland

Obstetric Unit

Freestanding Midwife-led Unit

Alongside Midwife-led Unit

NHS Ayrshire & Arran

Ayrshire Maternity Unit, Crosshouse

Arran War Memorial

Midwifery-led Unit, Crosshouse

NHS Borders

Borders General, Melrose

NHS Dumfries & Galloway

Cresswell Maternity Wing Dumfries & Galloway Royal Infirmary

Clenoch Birthing Centre, Galloway Community Hospital, Stranraer

NHS Fife

Victoria Hospital, Kirkcaldy Consultant led

Victoria Hospital, Kirkcaldy Midwife led

NHS Forth Valley

Forth Valley Royal Hospital, Larbert

NHS Grampian

Aberdeen Royal

Aberdeen Maternity Unit

Dr Gray's, Elgin

Peterhead Community Hospital

NHS Greater Glasgow & Clyde

Princess Royal Maternity

Queen Elizabeth University Hospital

Royal Alexandra, Paisley

Royal Alexandra, Paisley Community Unit

Inverclyde Royal, Greenock

Vale of Leven, Alexandria

NHS Highland

Raigmore, Inverness

Caithness General, Wick [61]

Dunoon & Districts Hospital

Victoria Hospital, Rothesay

Mid Argyle Hospital, Lochgilphead

Belford Hospital, Fort William

Campbeltown Hospital

Lorn and Islands Hospital, Oban

Islay Hospital

Dr MacKinnon Memorial Hospital, Skye

NHS Lanarkshire

Wishaw General

NHS Lothian

Simpson Centre, Edinburgh Royal Infirmary

St John's, Livingston

Lothian Birth Centre

NHS Tayside

Ninewells, Dundee

Perth Community Maternity Unit Montrose Infirmary

Community Midwifery Unit

Arbroath Infirmary Community Midwifery Unit

Dundee - Midwifery Unit

NHS Western Isles

Western Isles Hospital, Stornoway

Uist and Barra, Benbecula

Barra Community Hospital

NHS Orkney

Balfour Hospital, Orkney

NHS Shetland

Shetland Maternity Unit*


* Shetland has a Community Midwifery Unit with GP support



Back to top