Scottish Health Survey 2012 - volume 1: main report

Scottish Health Survey 2012 - main report

Editors' Acknowledgements

Our first thank you is to the 4,815 adults, and 1,787 children, who gave up their time voluntarily to take part in the 2012 survey and welcomed our interviewers into their homes.

We would also like to thank those colleagues who contributed to the survey and this report. In particular we would like to thank:

  • All the interviewers who worked on the project. We owe a huge debt of gratitude for the dedication and professionalism they applied to their work.
  • The authors of the chapters: Catherine Bromley, Michael Davidson, Julie Day, Mira Doig, Shanna Dowling, Linsay Gray, Alix Hampson, Tracey Hughes, Alastair Leyland, Judith Mabelis, and Heather Wardle.
  • Joan Corbett and Jackie Palmer, whose hard work and expertise has been crucial in preparing the survey data, and for conducting much of the analysis in this report.
  • Other research colleagues, in particular: Simon Anderson, Lesley Birse and Andy MacGregor (ScotCen Social Research); Christine Bidwell, Rachel Craig, Kevin Pickering and Josephine Taylor (NatCen Social Research); Fiona Corbett (ScotCen); Melissa Shapero (ScotCen/ University of St Andrews),
  • Emma Fenn and colleagues in the NatCen Social Research Operations team.
  • The area manager, interviewer team leaders as well as Sue Nash and her nurse supervisors.
  • The principal programmers: Iain Templeton and Sven Sjodin.
  • The Survey Doctors: Dr Sangeeta Dhami and Professor Aziz Sheikh.
  • Alison Platts for her assistance with editing and proofing of the report.

We would also like to express our thanks Dr Linda Wilson of the Freeman Hospital, Newcastle, and the laboratory staff at the Royal Victoria Infirmary, Newcastle, and to Dr Colin Feyerabend and his staff at ABS Laboratories in Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire, for their continuing helpfulness and efficiency in processing and analysing the saliva and urine samples on the study.

Ethical approval for the study was granted by the Research Committee for Wales (11/WA/0246). We are grateful to the committee, and its co-ordinator Dr Corrine Scott, for their careful scrutiny and on-going support.

Finally, special thanks are due to Julie Ramsay, and her colleagues in the Scottish Government Health Directorates, for their support at all stages of the project.

Lisa Rutherford, Stephen Hinchliffe and Clare Sharp


Email: Julie Landsberg

Back to top