Publication - Progress report

Developing the Young Workforce: annual report 2014-15

Published: 9 Dec 2015
Advanced Learning and Science Directorate
Part of:
Education, Work and skills

The first annual report on Scotland's youth employment strategy, setting out progress in year one of implementing the seven-year programme.

Developing the Young Workforce: annual report 2014-15


Developing the Young Workforce National Group (formerly known as the National Invest in Young People Group)

The Developing the Young Workforce National Group provides expert guidance from industry, local government, the college and trade unions to oversee the establishment of a network of regional employer-led groups, a key recommendation of the Commission for Developing Scotland’s Young Workforce. The National Group is chaired by Rob Woodward.

  • Rob Woodward ( CE, STV) - Chair
  • Grahame Smith ( STUC General Secretary; Skills Development Scotland and Scottish Enterprise Board; Wood Commissioner)
  • Sylvia Halkerston (Former HR Director, Macphie of Glenbervie; Scottish Funding Council/Skills Development Scotland Joint Skills Committee; Wood Commissioner)
  • Liz Cameron ( CE, Scottish Chambers of Commerce)
  • Colin Borland (Head of External Affairs Scotland, Federation of Small Businesses)
  • John Stewart (Director of HR, Scottish and Southern Energy)
  • Heather Dunk (Principal, Ayrshire College)
  • Elma Murray ( CE, North Ayrshire Council)
  • Graeme Waddell (Skills Development Scotland Board, ex. Rolls Royce, Chair of Energen Biogas)