Anti-Racism in Education Programme


This programme was formerly known as the Race Equality and Anti-Racism in Education Programme (REAREP).

The Scottish Government’s Anti Racism in Education Programme (AREP) was established in response to:

  • the significant amount of correspondence received by the Deputy First Minister as part of the Black Lives Matter movement and 
  • one of the recommendations made by the COVID-19 Ethnicity Expert Group, seeking to include the teaching of Black history in the curriculum

At the end of 2020, officials in Learning Directorate, Education Scotland and the Equality Unit undertook a series of engagement sessions with education and race equality stakeholders to gain a better understanding of what the challenges are in terms of race inequality and racism in schools. At the beginning of 2021, the Deputy First Minister and the Minister for Older People and Equality met a number of stakeholders in order to listen to their suggestions for addressing race inequality in schools.  

The Programme’s governance consists of a small Programme Board with representation from a range of education and anti-racism stakeholders as well as local authorities, other Scottish Government departments and executive agencies. The Programme Board is chaired by Dr. Khadija Mohammed and the secretariat function is delivered by the Scottish Government’s Equalities in Education Team.


The Anti-Racism in Education Programme has been established with the central aims of:

  • identifying measures which will address race inequality which remains evident in schools
  • working with marginalised groups and individuals to ensure that young people from all minority ethnic backgrounds who experience race inequality, have their voices heard and can feed in to the decision making and implementation of this group’s objectives
  • advising on potential changes in practice and also on concrete short, medium and long term actions to support the desired outcome, which is that as a result of an anti-racist approach and a culture of racial literacy amongst all school staff and pupils, no minority ethnic child, young person, teacher or member of staff will experience race inequality in a school setting
  • the group will be an action and outcomes focussed one, examining the key drivers of systemic race inequality in schools, how barriers which still exist can be removed and how good practice can be built upon

Subgroups have been created and members will bring their different viewpoints together with evidence to develop a set of actions which address race inequality in schools across four distinct areas. Read more about the work of these sub-groups using the following links:

Related work 

There are a number of pre-existing work strands which tie in to the REAREP work. This includes, but is not limited to:  


  • Dr Khadija Mohammed, Scottish Association of Minority Ethnic Educators (SAMEE), (Chair)
  • Nuzhat Uthmani, Diversity in the Teaching Profession and Education Workforce Subgroup
  • Jovan Rao Rydder, Curriculum Reform Subgroup
  • Chair, Racism and Racist Incidents Subgroup
  • Samir Sharma, Education Leadership and Professional Learning Subgroup
  • Monica Medina, Scottish Qualifications Authority (SQA)
  • Matthew Sweeney, Convention of Scottish Local Authorities (COSLA)
  • Carrie Lindsay, Association of Directors of Education in Scotland (ADES)
  • Louise Barrett, Scottish Council of Deans of Education (SCDE)
  • Carol Young, Coalition for Race Equality and Rights (CRER)
  • Ndaye Lisa Badji, Intercultural Youth Scotland (IYS)
  • Nikhat Yusaf, Educational Institute of Scotland (EIS) BAME Network
  • Pauline Stephen, General Teaching Council for Scotland (GTCS)

Education Scotland

  • Laura-Ann Currie, Education Scotland

Scottish Government

  • Sam Anson, Scottish Government
  • Aqeel Ahmed, Scottish Government
  • Judith Ballantine, Scottish Government
  • Emma Bunting, Scottish Government (Secretariat)





Back to top