Curriculum Reform sub group

A sub group of the Race Equality and Anti-Racism in Education Programme: Stakeholder Network Group.


The Curriculum Reform sub group is one of four workstreams established by the Learning Directorate, working towards race equality and anti-racism in the education system as part of the wider Race Equality and Anti-Racism in Education Programme.

The other three workstreams are:

The Curriculum Reform sub group identified early on the need to review the existing curriculum framework to seek opportunities to meaningfully embed and articulate race equality and anti-racism, and to establish the key principles and features of any future curriculum reform. A small review and design group was created in January 2022 to take this forward.



Related work

Embedding race equality in schools - (

Curriculum Framework Review and Design Group


  • Khadija Mohammed, School of Education and Social Sciences, University of West of Scotland (chair)
  • Jovan Rao-Rydder, Programme Director, Intercultural Youth Scotland, (chair)
  • Carol Young, Deputy Director, Coalition for Racial Equality and Rights
  • Nuzhat Uthmani, primary teacher, Glasgow City Council, EIS Vice Convenor Antiracist Sub Committee, Founder of GC Education Scotland
  • Munibah Ghani, NASUWT, biology teacher, Holyrood Secondary School
  • Crisantos Ike, MSYP, Rutherglen
  • Titilayo Farukuoye, Education Programme, Intercultural Youth Scotland
  • Hakim Din, Education and Race Consultant
  • Sadia Hussain-Savuk, biology teacher, Dollar Academy
  • Lewis Hou, The Anti-Racist Educator and Science Ceilidh
  • Asif Chishti, Senior Education Officer – National Diversity Lead, General Teaching Council for Scotland
  • Sara Medel Jiménez, NASUWT, STUC Black Workers Committee and spanish teacher
  • Katie Hunter, history teacher, St Thomas of Aquin’s High School
  • Pavithra Sarma, Anti-racism consultant and co-founder, Scottish Anti-Racism Education
  • Matthew Sweeney, Convention of Scottish Local Authorities, COSLA
  • Peter McNaughton, Association of Directors of Education in Scotland
  • Jim Metcalfe, Scottish College Network
  • Fiona Nicholson, National Parent Forum Scotland
  • Michael Roach, Head of Education, Inverclyde Council
  • Frank Thomson, Youth, Family and Community Learning Service, South Lanarkshire
  • Annette Foulcer, Equalities, Scottish Qualifications Authority
  • Denise Dunlop, Humanities, Scottish Qualifications Authority
  • Theo Ogbhemhe, Religious, Moral and Philosophical Studies, Kirkwall Grammar School

Education Scotland

  • Laura-Ann Currie, Head of Inclusion, Equalities and Wellbeing
  • Lynne Robertson, Social Studies Senior Education Officer
  • Mélina Valdelièvre, Lead Specialist in Race Equality, Professional Leadership and Learning
  • Graeme Wallace, Curriculum Innovation Senior Education Officer

Scottish Government

  • Stuart Downes, Health and Wellbeing in Education
  • Hazel Bartels, Head of Curriculum Unit
  • Laura Ross, Curriculum Unit
  • Francois Roos, Early Years Education
Back to top