Disability and Carers Benefits Expert Advisory Group


The independent Disability and Carers Benefits Expert Advisory Group was set up to advise Scottish Ministers on specific policy options for the following benefits:

  • Disability Living Allowance
  • Personal Independence Payment
  • Attendance Allowance
  • Severe Disablement Allowance
  • Industrial Injuries Disablement Benefit
  • Carers Allowance

Part of their remit is to work with the Experience Panels.

As the Group is independent of the Scottish Government, any information or documents published are being hosted on behalf of the Group only.


  • Chair: Dr Jim McCormick – Associate Director for Scotland, Joseph Rowntree Foundation
  • Tressa Burke, Deputy Chair - Chief Executive, Glasgow Disability Alliance
  • Shaben Begum – Director, Scottish Independent Advocacy Alliance
  • Fiona Collie – Policy and Public Affairs Manager, Carers Scotland
  • Etienne d'Aboville – Chief Executive, Glasgow Centre for Inclusive Living (GCIL)
  • Lucinda Godfrey – Chief Executive Officer, Dundee Carers Centre
  • Sarah Hammond – Manager, East Ayrshire Citizens Advice Bureau
  • Jatin Haria – Executive Director, Coalition for Racial Equality & Rights (CRER)
  • Caroline Lochhead - Public Affairs Manager, Scottish Association for Mental Health (SAMH)
  • Professor Ewan MacDonald – Honorary Professor of Public Health, Institute of Health and Wellbeing, University of Glasgow
  • Dr Alan McDevitt – GP in Clydebank
  • Dr Angela O'Hagan – Senior Lecturer in Equalities and Public Policy, Glasgow Caledonian University
  • Ed Pybus - Welfare Rights Advisor, Child Poverty Action Group (CPAG)
  • Frank Reilly – Director, Scottish Recovery Network
  • Bill Scott - Policy Director, Inclusion Scotland
  • Andrew Strong - Assistant Director (Policy and Communications), Health and Social Care Alliance Scotland
  • Professor Carol Tannahill – Director, Glasgow Centre for Population Health