Maternity and neonatal review: Best Start Implementation Programme Board


The Implementation Programme Board was established in June 2017 to guide the implementation of The best start: a five-year plan for maternity and neonatal care in Scotland.

To deliver this aim, the Programme Board will:

1. Develop an action plan for implementing the recommendations of The Best Start over the five-year implementation period. The action plan will:

  • prioritise recommendations
  • identify key steps to implementation and their interdependencies
  • identify key partners for delivery
  • identify timescales and resources required for implementation

2. Analyse the costs and the staffing implications of the implementation and the recommendations over the envisaged five-year implementation period

3. Take forward implementation in partnership with the NHS, service users and key stakeholders, and develop a clear strategy for communication and engagement

4. Put in place mechanisms to measure progress on implementation and report regularly to Ministers

Related groups


  • Jane Grant (Chair), Chief Executive, NHS GG&C
  • Prof. Ann Holmes (Vice Chair), Chief Midwifery Advisor & Associate Chief Nursing Officer, Scottish Government
  • Dr Corinne Love (Vice Chair), Senior Medical Officer - Scottish Government
  • Sharon Adamson, Regional Planning Director, West of Scotland
  • Dr Jenny Bennison GP, NHS Lothian, RCGP
  • Prof Hazel Borland, Nursing, Midwifery and Allied Health Professionals Director, NHS Ayrshire & Arran
  • Prof Alan Cameron, Obstetrician, Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists
  • Elsbeth Campbell, Head of Communications, NHS Forth Valley
  • Justine Craig, Head of Midwifery, NHS Tayside
  • Elizabeth Duff, Senior Policy Advisor, NCT
  • Dr Tara Fairley, Clinical Director, NHS Grampian
  • John Froggatt, Head of Child and Maternal Health, Scottish Government
  • Dr Roderick Harvey, Medical Director, NHS Highland
  • Kate Kenmure, Head of Midwifery, NHS Shetland
  • Susan Key, Associate Director, NHS Education for Scotland
  • Heather Knox, Director of Acute Services, NHS Lanarkshire
  • Caroline Lee Davey, Chief Executive, Bliss
  • Dr Helen Mactier, Chair of Scottish Neonatal Consultants Group and Honorary Secretary British Association of Perinatal Medicine (BAPM), NHS GG&C
  • Dr Alan Mathers, Chief of Medicine Women and Children, NHS GG&C
  • Gillian Morton, General Manager, NHS Forth Valley
  • Dr Edile Murdoch, Clinical Director, Women and Children's and Neonatologist NHS Lothian
  • Prof Mary Renfrew, Professor of Mother and Infant Health, School of Nursing and Health Sciences, University of Dundee
  • Dr Mary Ross Davie, Director for Scotland RCM
  • Alison Wright, Chair of Scottish Neonatal Nurses Group, Chair of Scottish Neonatal Nurses Group, Advanced Neonatal Nurse Practitioners, NHS Tayside



Email: Amy Brown

Tel: 0131 244 5640

Back to top