The Scottish Health Survey 2022 – volume 1: main report

This report presents results for the Scottish Health Survey 2022, providing information on the health and factors relating to health of people living in Scotland.

This document is part of a collection

Editors’ Acknowledgements

Firstly, we would like to thank the many thousands of adults and children across Scotland for giving up their time to participate in the 2022 survey.

We would also like to thank colleagues who contributed to the survey and this report:

  • The ScotCen and Office for National Statistics (ONS) interviewers who worked on the project and who adapted so well to the changes in approach to administering the survey over the course of the year. The success of the survey is in large part down to the commitment and professionalism they apply to their work every day.
  • ONS Field Operations colleagues Dean Fletcher, Julia Moore, Aaron Lynn, and Simon Cornish.
  • Vicky Wilson for her dedicated management and oversight of the Scottish Health Survey at ScotCen.
  • The authors of the chapters: Sophie Birtwistle, Erin Deakin, Josephine Wildman, Elena Maiolani, Olga Martini, Eleanor Holman, and Stephen Rule, as well as Lesley Birse for careful checking and formatting.
  • Shaza Mahmood, Natasha Gandhi, Stephen Hinchcliffe and Jamie Macfarlane whose hard work, attention to detail, knowledge and expertise have been invaluable to the preparation of the survey data as well as extensive analysis input to the report.
  • Stephen Rule, Vicky Wilson, Paul Bradshaw, Stephen Hinchliffe, Sophie Birtwistle, Lisa Rutherford and Hannah Biggs for assistance with editing and checking.
  • The principal programmer Iain Templeton, Project Manager Emma Fenn and colleagues in the NatCen Social Research Web & Postal, Data and other survey support teams
  • NatCen Field and Data Collection colleagues including Warren Lovell, Julie Foster, Deborah Healey, Sandie Napier, Colin Gibb and Jennifer Tarney.
  • Other research colleagues and partners, in particular: Ana Cristina and freelance designer Murray Holland for his hard work on the infographic chapter summaries.

Ethical approval for the study was granted by the Research Committee for Wales (17/WA/0371). We are grateful to the committee, and its co-ordinator Dr Corrine Scott, for their careful scrutiny and on-going support.

Finally, special thanks are due to Julie Landsberg, Morag Shepherd, Jessica Boddice, Xanthippi Gounari, Jamie Macfarlane and colleagues in the Scottish Government Health Directorates, for their continued support at all stages of the project.

Stephen Rule and Victoria Wilson.



Back to top