National Planning Framework 4

National Planning Framework 4 (NPF4) is our national spatial strategy for Scotland. It sets out our spatial principles, regional priorities, national developments and national planning policy. It should be read as a whole and replaces NPF3 and Scottish Planning Policy.

Annex E – Minimum All-Tenure Housing Land Requirement

This Annex sets out the Minimum All-Tenure Housing Land Requirement (MATHLR) for each planning authority in Scotland. This is to meet the requirement of Section 3A(3)(d) of the Town and Country Planning (Scotland) Act 1997, as amended. The MATHLR is the minimum amount of land, by reference to the number of housing units, that is to be provided by each planning authority in Scotland for a 10 year period. The MATHLR is expected to be exceeded in each Local Development Plan’s Local Housing Land Requirement.

Local and National Park Authority MATHLR
Aberdeen City 7,000
Aberdeenshire 7,550
Angus 2,550
Argyll & Bute 2,150
Cairngorms National Park 850
City of Edinburgh 36,750
Clackmannanshire 1,500
Dumfries & Galloway 4,550
Dundee City 4,300
East Ayrshire 4,050
East Dunbartonshire 2,500
East Lothian 6,500
East Renfrewshire 2,800
Eilean Siar 192
Falkirk 5,250
Fife (Central and South) 5,550
Fife (North) 1,750
All Fife* 7,300
Glasgow City 21,350
Highland 9,500
Inverclyde 1,500
Loch Lomond & The Trossachs National Park 300
Midlothian 8,850
Moray 3,450
North Ayrshire 2,950
North Lanarkshire 7,350
Orkney 1,600
Perth & Kinross 8,500
Renfrewshire 4,900
Scottish Borders 4,800
Shetland 850
South Ayrshire 2,000
South Lanarkshire 7,850
Stirling 3,500
West Dunbartonshire 2,100
West Lothian 9,850

*The total consists of Fife North and Fife Central and South. This reflects that Fife was formerly part of two Strategic Development Plan areas and contributed to separate Housing Need and Demand Assessments.



Back to top