Publication - Independent report

Policing of the miners' strike 1984-1985 - impact on communities: independent review

Published: 28 Oct 2020

This is the final report from the independent review that was commissioned to investigate and report on the impact on communities in Scotland on the policing of the miners' strike 1984 to 1985.

90 page PDF

2.0 MB

90 page PDF

2.0 MB

Contents
Policing of the miners' strike 1984-1985 - impact on communities: independent review
Acknowledgements

90 page PDF

2.0 MB

Acknowledgements

Materials Considered

Academic Research And Other Books

Beyond aesthetics: visibility and invisibility in the aftermath of deindustrialization, Steven High, 2013

Bradford v McLeod, High court of Judiciary, November 1985

British anarchism's and the miners' strike, Benjamin Franks, October 2005

"Broken men" and "Thatcher's children": memory and legacy in Scotland's coalfields, Andrew Perchard, University of Strathclyde, January 2014

Case comment: miscarriage of justice – bias, Criminal Law Review, October 1986

Central coordination, police authorities and the miners' strike, Barry Loveday, January 1986

The closure of Michael Colliery in 1967 and the politics of deindustrialization in Scotland. Twentieth Century British History, Jim Phillips, 2015

Collieries, communities and the miners' strike in Scotland, 1984-1985, Jim Phillips, October 2012

Containing, isolating and defeating the miners: the UK Cabinet ministerial group on coal and the three phases of the 1984-85 strike, Jim Phillips, January 2014

Contested spaces of hegemony: left alliances after the crisis, Dave Featherstone, October 2016

Cowie miners, Polmaise Colliery and the 1984-85 miners' strike, Steve McGrail with Vicky Patterson, 1984

Material and moral resources: the 1984-5 miners' strike in Scotland, Jim Phillips, Apr 2011

News content and audience belief: a case study of the 1984/85 miners' strike, Greg Philo, March 1989

Reality, identity and empathy: the changing face of social history television, Tristram Hunt, 2006

The 1984-5 miners' strike and the spirit of solidarity, Diarmaid Kelliher, 2015

The Enemies Within: The Story of the Miners' Strike, 1984-5, Sir Ian McGregor

The enemy within: the secret war against the miners, Seumas Milne, April 2014 (4th edition)

The enemy without: policing and class consciousness in the miners' strike, Penny Green, November 1990

The state, the police and the judiciary in the miners' strike: observations and discussions, thirty years on, Sheryl Bernadette Buckley, September 2015

Transgressing the moral economy: Wheelerism and the management of the nationalised coal industry in Scotland, A Perchard and J Phillips, July 2011

Workplace conflict and the origins of the 1984-85 miners' strike in Scotland, Jim Phillips, February 2009

Hansard Extracts

Hansard HC Deb. vol.56 cols.279-80, 16 March 1984 Picketing (Criminal Law)

Hansard HC Deb. vol.56 col.313, 19 March 1984 Pit Closures

Hansard HC Deb. vol.57 col.1-2, 26 March 1984 Mining Dispute

Hansard HC Deb. vol.57 col.355, 02 April 1984 Picketing

Hansard HC Deb. vol.57 col.375, 02 April 1984 Mining Dispute (Police)

Hansard HC Deb. vol.57 col.385, 02 April 1984 Mining Dispute (Police)

Hansard HC Deb. vol.57 col.467, 03 April 1984 Coal Industry (Dispute)

Hansard HC Deb. vol.58 col.382, 11 April 1984 Pickets

Hansard HC Deb. vol.60 col.44, 14 May 1984 Ravenscraig and Hunterston (Policing Costs)

Hansard HC Deb. vol.60 col.358-60, 16 May 1984 Miners' Strike

Hansard HC Deb. vol.60 col.221, 17 May 1984 Coal Industry Dispute

Hansard HC Deb. vol.60 col.371, 21 May 1984 Pickets

Hansard HC Deb. vol.60 col.589, 25 May 1984 Coal Industry Dispute

Hansard HC Deb. vol.61 col.77, 04 June 1984 Pickets (Arrests)

Hansard HC Deb. vol.61 col.363, 11 June 1984 Coal Industry Dispute

Hansard HC Deb. vol.62 col.147-8, 19 June 1984 Coal Industry Dispute

Hansard HC Deb. vol.62 col.285-8, 20 June 1984 Coal Industry Dispute

Hansard HC Deb. vol.62 col.182-3, 20 June 1984 Coal Industry Dispute

Hansard HC Deb. vol.64 col.226, 18 July 1984 Coal Industry Dispute

Hansard HC Deb. vol.64 col.226, 18 July 1984 Coal Industry Dispute

Hansard HC Deb. vol.64 col.821-2, 24 July 1984 Coal Industry Dispute

Hansard HC Deb. vol.65 col.277, 01 August 1984 Coal Industry Dispute

Hansard HC Deb. vol.65 col.277, 01 August 1984 Coal Industry Dispute

Hansard HC Deb. vol.65 col.676-7, 25 October 1984 Coal Industry Dispute

Hansard HC Deb. vol.65 col.1289-91, 31 October 1984 Coal Industry Dispute

Hansard HC Deb. vol.68 col.19-20, 19 November 1984 Coal Industry Dispute

Hansard HC Deb. vol.69 col.43, 03 December 1984 Coal Industry Dispute

Hansard HC Deb. vol.69 col.602, 14 December 1984 Coal Industry Dispute (Legal Aid)

Hansard HC Deb. vol.69 col.620-2, 14 December 1984 Coal Industry Dispute

Hansard HC Deb. vol.70 col.58-9, 17 December 1984 Coal Industry Dispute

Hansard HC Deb. vol.70 col.371, 21 December 1984 Coal Industry Dispute

Hansard HC Deb. vol.71 col.59, 14 January 1985 Coal Industry Dispute

Hansard HC Deb. vol.71 col.238, 18 January 1985 Coal Industry Dispute

Hansard HC Deb. vol.71 col.372, 22 January 1985 Coal Industry Dispute (Inquiry)

Hansard HC Deb. vol.75 col.17, 11 March 1985 Coal Industry Dispute

Hansard HC Deb. vol.75 col.299-301, 13 March 1985 Coal Industry

Media Content

292 Miners Arrested [Newspaper] The Scotsman, May 1984

A war no one deserved to win [Website], The Guardian, 2009

Arthur Scargill – we could surrender – or stand and fight [Website], The Guardian, 2009

Coal mining in Britain – The story of mining from the coal face to the strike [Website], BBC Archive, 2009

Enemies within: Thatcher and the Unions [Website], BBC News, 2004

How much longer? [Documentary], BBC Panorama, 1985

Is the coal face crumbling [Documentary], BBC Panorama, 1984

Miners jailed for pit strike murder [Website], BBC News, 1985

Myths and realities of the miners' strike [Blog] Tory Radio, 2009

Philip Hensher: The legend of Arthur must leave no legacy [Website], The Independent, 2009

Slideshow: the miners' strike [Website], BBC News, 2004

Still the enemy within [Documentary], Owen Gower, 2014

The coal war [Documentary], BBC Panorama, 1984

The Force – the story of Scotland's police – episode 3 [Documentary], BBC, 2017

The miner and the copper [Website], The Guardian, 2009

The miners' strike – the bitter legacy [Website], BBC Panorama, 2009

The Report – miner's strike: miscarriages? [Podcast], BBC Radio 4, 2014

Ministerial Group On Coal

CAB 130/1268 16 March 1984

CAB 130/1268 19 March 1984

CAB 130/1268 26 March 1984

CAB 130/1268 02 April 1984

CAB 130/1268 04 April 1984

CAB 130/1268 11 April 1984

CAB 130/1268 16 April 1984

CAB 130/1268 08 May 1984

CAB 130/1268 04 June 1984

CAB 130/1268 05 June 1984

CAB 130/1268 12 June 1984

CAB 130/1268 20 June 1984

CAB 130/1268 27 June 1984

CAB 130/1268 01 July 1984

CAB 130/1268 02 July 1984

CAB 130/1268 16 July 1984

CAB 130/1268 18 July 1984

CAB 130/1268 23 July 1984

CAB 130/1268 25 July 1984

CAB 130/1268 08 August 1984

CAB 130/1268 21 August 1984

CAB 130/1268 28 August 1984

CAB 130/1268 30 August 1984

CAB 130/1268 04 September 1984

CAB 130/1268 07 September 1984

CAB 130/1268 10 September 1984

CAB 130/1268 25 September 1984

CAB 130/1268 27 September 1984

CAB 130/1268 29 October 1984

CAB 130/1268 13 November 1984

CAB 130/1268 20 November 1984

CAB 130/1268 26 November 1984

CAB 130/1268 10 December 1984

CAB 130/1268 18 December 1984

National Archives

CAB 128/78

CAB 128/79

CAB 130/1268

CAB 130/1285

COAL 23/526

COAL 26/1119

COAL 78/962

COAL 87/143

DEFE 24/2911

DEFE 24/2912

FCO 30/6372

FCO 30/6373

HO 287/3598

HO 287/3602

HO 287/3607

HO 325/623

HO 325/624

HO 325/625

HO 325/897

HO 325/898

HO 325/899/1

HO 325/899/1

HO 325/899/1

HO 325/899/1

HO 325/899/1

HO 325/899/1

HO 325/899/2

HO 325/900

HO 325/901

HO 325/902

HO 325/903

HO 504/34

HO 504/35

HO 504/36

HO 532/128

PREM 19/1330

National Records Of Scotland

HH55/1935/1

HH55/1938

HH55/1940/1

HH55/1940/1

HH55/1940/1

HH55/1949/1

HH55/2163

HH55/2164

SE12/571

SEP14/2194

SEP4/6027

SEP4/6028

SEP4/6029/1

SEP4/6048

SEP4/6048

SEP4/6048

SEP4/6049

SEP4/6052

SOE12/571

SOE12/572

SOE12/573/1

Past Inquiries And Investigations

Civil liberties and the miners' dispute: first report of the independent inquiry, The National Council for Civil Liberties, 1984

Coal health compensation schemes, Trade and Industry Committee, 2005

Examination of pension entitlements – consultative document, Department of Trade and Industry, May 2000

Labour Party report, Gordon Brown and Merlyn Rees, May 1985

Report of nationalised industries policy group, Economic Reconstruction Group, June 1977

The case for a review on the conviction of miners in Scotland, Public and Commercial Service Union, 2015

Police Reports

A report on the policing of the National Union of Mineworkers dispute from 12th March 1984 until 7th March 1985, within 'E' division, Lothian and Borders Police, 1985

Central Scotland Police report 1984, Central Scotland Police, 1985

Strathclyde Police report 1984, Strathclyde Police, 1985

Tayside Police Report 1984/1985, Tayside Police, 1985

The miners' dispute 1984-1985 – debrief report, Fife Police, April 1985


Contact

Email: minersstrikereview@gov.scot