Implementation of the Flood Risk Management (Scotland) Act 2009: report to the Scottish Parliament - 2019

Progress of work carried out in 2019 through the implementation of the Flood Risk Management (Scotland) Act 2009.

Annex A – Scottish Flood Forum's Community Support

Summary of Scottish Flood Forum actions in 2019

Scottish Flood Forum supported a number of households and communities, undertaking numerous community visits and surgeries. In comparison to previous years, there was an increased number of households supported, Property Level Protection (PLP) visits undertaken and enquiries dealt with. Key information is summarised below;

Recovery programme – large scale events

  • 88 Recovery Surgeries
  • 41 PLP exhibitions
  • 984 PLP visits to flooded properties

Requests for Information

  • 338 Information line calls
  • >2000 Enquiry emails

Small scale, localised flooding support

  • 216 households supported

Emerging Community Resilience Groups

The SFF continues to support 42 established resilience groups throughout Scotland and;

  • 4 groups supported to start
  • 12 groups supported still emerging from recovery

Mediation Requests

  • 104 Clients requests
  • 34 Local Authority requests
  • 4 MSP requests

List of communities supported by the Scottish Flood Forum in reporting period:


Aberdeenshire – Stonehaven, Banff (Aberdeen), Insch
Moray – Elgin, Lossiemouth, Portknockie
Fife – Cupar, Dairsie, Blebo Crags, Pitscottie, Rosyth, Inverkeithing, Kennoway
Glasgow – Bishopbriggs, Bearsden, Milngavie, Kirkintilloch
Edinburgh – Water of Leith, Dalkeith
North Lanarkshire Cumbernauld, Wishaw, Kilsyth
South Lanarkshire – Biggar, East Kilbride
Dumfries and Galloway – Challoch, Newtown Stewart, Moffat, Creetown, Wallaceton, Kirtlebridge, Stranraer
Argyll & Bute – Isle of Bute, Tarbet, Rothsay, Oban
Highlands & Islands – Dingwall, Inverness
Scottish Borders – Hawick, Peebles
Perth & Kinross – Crook of Devon, Aberfeldy, Errol
Dundee City Council - Dundee
Stirlingshire – Stirling, Blanefield, Blairlogie
Falkirk – Linlithgow
Clackmannanshire –Tillicoultry
East Ayrshire – Kilmarnock
North Ayrshire Irvine, Dreghorn
East Renfrewshire – Newton Mearns
West Dunbartonshire – Dumbarton



Back to top