Council of Economic Advisers: annual report 2015-2016

An overview of how the Council operates, and the areas they focused on from 2015 to 2016.

Annex A: Membership of the Council

Crawford Beveridge (Chair)

Crawford Beveridge (Chair) - Crawford Beveridge is a technology industry veteran with more than 35 years of experience. This included working as an Executive at Sun Microsystems for over 15 years. In 1991, Beveridge left Sun to become Chief Executive of Scottish Enterprise. Beveridge returned to Sun in April 2000 as Executive Vice President of People and Places and Chief Human Resources Officer. In addition to being the Non-Executive Chairman of the Board of Autodesk, Beveridge is Chairman of Scottish Equity Partners Ltd, and a Non-executive board member of eSilicon and iomart Group PLC. He was awarded a C.B.E. in the New Years Honours list in 1995.

Sir Harry Burns

Sir Harry Burns ‒ Professor of Global Public Health at the University of Strathclyde and former Chief Medical Officer for Scotland. Sir Harry holds a leadership position within the International Prevention Research Institute. He was previously appointed as Honorary Consultant Surgeon and Senior Lecturer in Surgery at the Royal Infirmary in Glasgow and was also Greater Glasgow's Public Health Director. Sir Harry has been a key figure in tackling Scotland's health inequalities. He was knighted in 2011.

Professor Sara Carter

Professor Sara Carter ‒ Professor of Entrepreneurship and Associate Deputy Principal of the University of Strathclyde. Sara Carter is a member of the UK Enterprise Research Centre, the Scottish Government's Strategic Group on Women and Work, co-Chair of the British Bankers' Association Diversity & Inclusion Business Council, and Non-Executive Director of Women's Enterprise Scotland. She has also served on the UK Government's Women's Enterprise Task Force and received an OBE for her services to women entrepreneurs.

Professor Mariana Mazzucato

Professor Mariana MazzucatoRM Philips Professor in the Economics of Innovation, SPRU, University of Sussex. Professor Mazzucato advises the UK government and the European Commission on innovation-led growth and she is currently a member of the Global Agenda Council on the Economics of Innovation for the World Economic Forum. Her research focuses on the relationship between financial markets, innovation and economic growth. Her recent book, The Entrepreneurial State: debunking private vs. public sector myths, focuses on the need to develop new frameworks to understand the role of the state in economic growth - and how to enable the rewards from innovation to be just as 'social' as the risks taken. She is winner of the 2014 New Statesman SPERI Prize in Political Economy and in 2013 the New Republic called her one of the 'three most important thinkers about innovation'.

Jim McColl

Jim McColl - Chairman and Chief Executive of Clyde Blowers - a company transformed under his leadership into a portfolio of global engineering companies. He also serves as Chairman of the Welfare to Work Forum which has seen 15,000 Scots enter employment.

Amanda McMillan

Amanda McMillan - Managing Director at Glasgow Airport and Chief Executive of AGS Airports Limited. Amanda McMillan is a qualified Chartered Accountant and has spent time in manufacturing, professional practice and lecturing. In addition to being a Non-Executive Director of Business Stream, she currently serves as a Board member of the Glasgow Chamber of Commerce, the Adam Smith Business School Strategic Advisory Board, University of Glasgow, and Glasgow Life. In 2013, Amanda McMillan received an OBE in recognition of services to business and tourism.

Professor Sir James Mirrlees

Professor Sir James Mirrlees - Professor Emeritus at Cambridge University and distinguished professor-at-large at the Chinese University of Hong Kong. In 1996 Sir James was awarded the Nobel Prize for his work on economic models and equations about situations where information is asymmetrical or incomplete. In 2010, he led the Mirrlees Review of taxation which examined the principles and characteristics of a good tax system for open developed economies in the 21st century.

Professor Anton Muscatelli

Professor Anton Muscatelli - Principal and Vice Chancellor of the University of Glasgow since 2009. Former Principal and Vice Chancellor of Heriot-Watt University. Professor Muscatelli has been a consultant to the World Bank and the European Commission, and chaired an independent expert group for the future financing of devolution for the Calman Commission. In 2007-10 he was an advisor on monetary policy to the House of Commons Treasury Select Committee and he has recently been appointed to Chair the Commission of Urban Economic Growth for the new Glasgow City Region. He is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Edinburgh, an Academician in the Learned Societies of the Social Sciences, and President of the David Hume Institute.

Professor Frances Ruane

Professor Frances Ruane - Honorary Professor of Economics at Trinity College Dublin and former Director of Ireland's Economic and Social Research Institute. She is currently a Member of the European Statistical Advisory Committee and the Economic Advisory Group in Northern Ireland. She is widely published in the area of international economic and industrial development

Professor Joseph Stiglitz

Professor Joseph Stiglitz - Professor Stiglitz is Professor of Economics at Columbia University. He won the Nobel Prize for Economics in 2001 and was a member of the US Council of Economic Advisers from 1993-95, serving as CEA Chair from 1995-97. He was Chief Economist and Senior Vice-President of the World Bank from 1997-2000. In 2009 he was appointed by the President of the United Nations General Assembly as Chair of the Commission of Experts on Reform of the International Financial and Monetary System.


Back to top