Council of Economic Advisers


This group is no longer active.


The Council of Economic Advisers was established in 2007 to advise ministers on how to make Scotland's economy more competitive. It was replaced in 2021.

Its membership comprises leading figures from the private sector and academia, including a Nobel Laureate.

The Council has two formal meetings a year and also carries out engagement and work between meetings focused on:

  • improving the competitiveness of the Scottish economy
  • tackling inequality within Scotland


  • Crawford Beveridge (Chair) - Chairman of Scottish Equity Partners Ltd. and Non-Executive Chairman of Autodesk
  • Sir Harry Burns - Professor of Global Public Health at the University of Strathclyde
  • Professor Sara Carter - Vice principal and Head of College of Social Sciences, University of Glasgow
  • Professor Mariana Mazzucato - Professor in the Economics of Innovation and Public Value, University College London (UCL)
  • Jim McColl - Chairman and Chief Executive of Clyde Blowers
  • Professor Anton Muscatelli - Principal and Vice Chancellor of the University of Glasgow
  • Professor Joseph Stiglitz - Professor of Economics at Columbia University
  • Craig Clark, CEO and founder of Clyde Space
  • Julia Unwin, Chair of the Independent Inquiry on the Future of Civil Society
  • Professor Brynhildur Davíðsdóttir - Professor of Environment and Natural Resourses, University of Iceland
  • Martine Durand - Former Chief Statistician at the OECD


Back to top