Suicide prevention: national advisory group


The National Suicide Prevention Advisory Group (NSPAG) has been established to champion and drive suicide prevention in Scotland, by:

  • providing independent assurance and advice to Government and COSLA on the strategy’s progress, and whether any redirection may be needed (using the evidence of progress reported through the outcomes framework)
  • providing strategic advice on delivery to the National Delivery Lead, to support progress

Related groups


Members of the group have been selected to help us understand suicide better - the complexity, intersectionality and inequality of suicide. As such the group’s membership represents many of the sectors who are leading work on the social determinants of suicide, such as poverty, as well as partners who are working in key sectors affected by suicide – such as the criminal justice sector.

The group's membership is:

  • Rose Fitzpatrick CBE QPM, Chair
  • Cath Denholm, Equality and Human Rights Commission
  • Dr Linda Findlay, Royal College of Psychiatrists Scotland
  • Louise Hunter, Who Cares? Scotland
  • Dr Douglas Hutchison, Association of Directors of Education Scotland
  • Peter Kelly, Poverty Alliance
  • Sheriff David Mackie, Scottish Association Care and Rehabilitation of Offenders (SACRO)
  • Catherine McWilliam, Institute of Directors Scotland
  • Brendan Rooney, Healthy n Happy Community Development Trust
  • Dr Andrea Williamson, Professor of General Practice and Inclusion Health, University of Glasgow



For any further information about the Scottish Government’s work on suicide prevention please contact

Back to top