National Suicide Prevention Leadership Group


National Suicide Prevention Leadership Group (NSPLG) has been established to help drive implementation of the Scottish Government’s Suicide Prevention Action Plan (2018), which sets out a target to further reduce the rate of suicide by 20% by 2022 (from a 2017 baseline).

NSPLG meets every month.

The group's terms of reference, delivery plan, minutes and other papers are at the bottom of this page in the Documents section. 



  • Rose Fitzpatrick CBE, QPM (Chair)
  • Rachel Cackett, Executive Director for Scotland, Samaritans
  • Dr Alastair Cook, Principal Medical Officer, Scottish Government
  • George Dodds, Director of Health Equity and Director of Health and Work, NHS Health Scotland
  • Fiona Drouet, Emilytest
  • Chief Superintendent David Duncan, Police Scotland
  • Toni Giugliano, Policy and Public Affairs Manager, Mental Health Foundation
  • Dr David Hall, Royal College of Psychiatrists
  • Nigel Henderson, Chief Executive, Penumbra
  • Dr Amy Knighton, Royal College of GPs
  • Lara McDonald, Young Person Representative, nominated via Young Scot
  • Jane O’Donnell, Head of Service Policy, COSLA
  • Nicky Reid, SPFL Trust
  • Angela Scott, Chief Executive, Aberdeen City Council
  • Dr Michael Smith, Lead Associate Medical Director, NHS Greater Glasgow Clyde CE and IJB rep
  • Alan Thornburrow, Business In The Community
  • Billy Watson, Chief Executive, SAMH


  • Professor Steve Platt, Co-Chair of the Academic Advisory Group
  • Professor Rory O’Connor, Co-Chair of the Academic Advisory Group