Regulatory Review Group


The independent Regulatory Review Group (RRG) was set up in December 2004 to help Scottish Ministers improve the regulatory environment for businesses.

It does this by:

  • identifying and trying to fix regulations causing concern for Scottish businesses
  • finding ways of improving the regulatory system
  • advising ministers on all aspects of Better Regulation
  • acting as an independent and informed judge of the Scottish Government and its regulatory agencies' Better Regulation performance

The RRG meets approximately every six weeks.


The RRG is made up of representatives from Scotland's main business organisations:

  • Chairman – Professor Russel Griggs – Confederation of British Industry
  • Charandeep Singh – Scottish Chambers of Commerce
  • Gregor Scotland - Confederation of British Industry
  • Scott Walker – National Farmers Union of Scotland
  • James Barbour – Institute of Chartered Accountants of Scotland
  • Ian Cass – Forum of Private Business
  • Helen Martin – Scottish Trade Union Congress
  • Susan Love – Federation of Small Businesses
  • Ewan MacDonald-Russell – Scottish Retail Consortium
  • Robert Nicol from COSLA, Sheila Scobie from the Competition and Markets Authority, Sarah Smith from Regulatory Delivery and David Skilling of the Scotland Office are members with observer status




RRG Secretariat


Tel: 0300 244 1143

Back to top