Surface coal mine restoration: final report to opencast coal task force

Final report on regulation by Scottish Opencast Coal Task Force's compliance and finance subgroups.


Compliance and monitoring sub-group remit and membership

  • take forward the options relating to compliance monitoring, mine progress plans, site surveys, enforcement and related matters
  • consider legislative and non-legislative measures
  • consider the value of a shared service or an independent compliance unit supporting planning authority autonomy,
  • meet periodically to discuss evidence and draft conclusions

The group held its inception meeting on 12 June 2014 and met again on 27 August and 4 November 2014.

Membership of the compliance working group:

Russel Griggs


Lin Bunten


Graeme Walker


Professor George Fleming

Association of Environmental and Ecological Clerks of Works

George Eckton


Alan Doak

AED Planning and Development Ltd.

Mark North

Kier Mining

Barney Pilgrim

Banks Group

Jerry Mulders

community representative

Elizabeth Morton

Depute Chief Executive East Ayrshire Council

David McDowall

Acting Head of Planning and Economic Development East Ayrshire Council

Malcolm Spaven

Scottish Opencast Communities Alliance

Nicky Wilson

NUM Scotland

Jim Birrell

Fife Council

Tim Brian

Scottish Government Inquiry Reporter

Graham Marchbank, Stuart McKay and Caroline Stafford

Scottish Government Policy and Secretariat


Email: Graham Marchbank

Back to top