Publication - Report

Supporting Scotland's STEM Education and Culture - Science and Engineering Education Advisory Group - second report

Published: 28 Feb 2012
Learning Directorate
Part of:

Recommendations for improving the profile of science in the community and enhancing science and engineering education.

133 page PDF

416.2 kB

133 page PDF

416.2 kB

Supporting Scotland's STEM Education and Culture - Science and Engineering Education Advisory Group - second report

133 page PDF

416.2 kB


Written Evidence

  • Gillian Black, Director of Policy Affairs, OPITO
  • Deans of Science and Engineering
  • Schools Science Education Research Centre ( SSERC)
  • Janette Kean, ASE
  • Local Authority representatives through the Directors of Education survey
  • Professor Jack Jackson
  • Moyna Kennedy, STEMNET
  • Scottish Council for Development and Industry ( SCDI)

Representation at SEEAG meetings

August 2010

  • Graham Donaldson, in his capacity as Chair of review of teacher education
  • The following contributed to SEEAG's Excellence Group considerations:
    • Lord Robert Winston, Imperial College, London
    • Dr Janet Brown, Chief Executive, Scottish Qualifications Authority ( SQA)
    • Professor Stuart Monro, Scientific Director, Our Dynamic Earth
    • Professor Alyson Tobin, Scottish Deans of Science and Engineering
    • Fred Young, Chief Executive, Scottish Schools Equipment Research Centre
    • Margaret Anne Johnston, St Luke's School, East Renfrewshire

November 2010

  • Alyson Tobin, Scottish Deans of Science and Engineering on the Excellence Group work

May 2011

  • Louise Smith, CEO of Dundee Science Centre
  • Wendy French, Development Officer, Learning and Teaching Scotland

July 2011

  • Dr Janet Brown, SQA
  • Alison Plummer, SQA

September 2011

  • Professor Jack Jackson

Stand-alone Meetings

  • 8 March 2011 - Dr Robin Hoyle and Sharon Macnab, Glasgow Science Centre; Hannah Crookes and Linda Leuchars, Dundee Science Centre; Gemma Catton, Satrosphere; and Dr Christine Angus and Prof Stuart Monro, Dynamic Earth
  • 23 November 2011 - Meeting with Scottish Science Advisory Group
  • 29 November 2011 - Meeting with STEMNET Contract Holders
  • 16 December 2011 - Meeting with Moyna Kennedy, STEMNET
  • 16 December 2011 - Meeting with Professor Jim Hough, Scottish Science Advisory Council

Representation at SEEAG Stakeholder Sessions - invitees

15 March 2011- Robert Gordon College

  • Tom Horner, British Science Association
  • Claire Thorne, RCUK Digital Economy Research, Aberdeen University
  • Ken Skeldon, Aberdeen University
  • Sam Cordiner, TechFest SetPoint
  • John Graham, Aberdeenshire City Council
  • Margaret Ritchie, Torry Academy
  • Susan Walker, Aberdeen College
  • Lynn Scanlon, Aberdeen City Council
  • Ian Armstrong, Area Adviser, SCDI
  • Mike Duncan, OPITO
  • Louise Smith, Dundee Science Centre
  • Alastair Dixon, Aboyne Academy
  • Clare Neely, Macaulay Land Use Research Institute
  • Mary Mackay, Whitehills School
  • 6 Robert Gordon's College pupils and teachers

10 May 2011 - Dundee Science Centre

  • Susan Kellington, Balcurvie Primary School, Fife
  • Mary Logue, Angus Council Education Department
  • Rhona Duncan, Menzieshill High School, Dundee
  • Dr Paul Campbell, Public Engagement Champion, University of Dundee
  • Prof John Palfreyman, Abertay University, Head of Contemporary Sciences
  • Jennifer Young, Techfest Setpoint, Tayside Manager
  • Prof Alyson Tobin, Dean of Science, University of St Andrews
  • Dr Alan Bruce, Abertay University
  • Brian Carroll, Harris Academy
  • Prof Brian Hudson, University of Dundee, Associate Dean, School of Education, Social Work and Community Education
  • June Jelly, Dundee City Council Education Development Services
  • Dr Ken Scott-Brown, Abertay University
  • Sarah Chew, Techfest Setpoint

12 July - Stirling Management Centre

  • Dr Jenny Rodgers, Royal Society of Chemistry, Regional Co-ordinator, Scotland
  • Kevin Price, CEO, Scottish Stem Cell Network
  • Anne Conrad, Human Health/Chemicals Policy, Environmental Futures and Trends Unit, Scottish Environment Protection Agency
  • David Pirie, Chief Officer for Science and Strategy, SEPA
  • Steuart Cuthbert, Field Officer Scotland, Association for Science Education
  • Tony Bragg, Quality Improvement Officer, Falkirk Council
  • Sandra Lowson, Director, Global Web Limited
  • Frank McKeever, Global Science

6 September 2011 - Royal Society of Edinburgh

  • Lord Sutherland of Houndwood, Education Committee Convener
  • Professor Sally Brown, Deputy Convener of Education Committee
  • Professor Geoffrey Boulton, Member
  • Keir Bloomer, Member
  • Professor Graham Donaldson, Member
  • Bristow Muldoon, Parliamentary Liaison Officer
  • William Hardie, Secretary to the Education Committee

Peer reviewers

  • Professor Susan Deacon
  • Professor Lindsay Paterson
  • Fred Young
  • Moyna Kennedy
  • Professor Alyson Tobin
  • Gordon Doig, Institute of Physics
  • Christina Potter, Principal, Dundee College
  • Nicola Nielsen, Education Scotland
  • Professor Stuart Monro, Our Dynamic Earth
  • Professor Graham Donaldson