Rural visa pilot proposal: September 2022

A pilot proposal document, developed by Scottish Government in collaboration with local authorities and business sector organisations, about a targeted migration solution for remote and rural areas of Scotland, to meet the discrete and specific needs of these communities and their local economies.

Annex A: List of Scotland’s Travel To Work Areas (TTWAs) with a significant rural component

Below is a list of Scotland’s Travel to Work Areas with a significant rural component, from which designated community pilot areas could be identified.

Relationship to local authority classification

Classification A: Nested within local authority, Classification B: Entire local authority, and Classification C: Split across 2 or more local authorities.

TTWA name Local authority Relationship to the Local Authority
Alness and Invergordon Highlands A
Aviemore and Grantown-on-Spey Highland A
Ayr North Ayrshire, East Ayrshire, South Ayrshire C
Broadford and Kyle of Lochalsh Highland A
Campbeltown Argyll and Bute A
Dalbeattie and Castle Douglas Dumfries and Galloway A
Dumbarton and Helensburgh Argyll and Bute A
Dumfries Dumfries and Galloway A
Dunoon and Rothesay Argyll and Bute A
Elgin Moray A
Fort William Highlands A
Fraserburgh Aberdeenshire A
Galashiels and Peebles Scottish Borders A
Girvan South Ayrshire A
Golspie and Brora Highland A
Greenock Inverclyde A
Hawick and Kelso Scottish Borders A
Lochgilphead Argyll and Bute A
Mull and Islay Argyll and Bute A
Newton Stewart Dumfries and Galloway A
Oban Argyll and Bute A
Orkney Islands Orkney Islands B
Peterhead Aberdeenshire A
Pitlochry and Aberfeldy Perthshire A
Portree Highland A
Shetland Islands Shetland islands B
St Andrews and Cupar Fife A
Stranraer Dumfries and Galloway A
Thurso Highland A
Turriff and Banff Aberdeenshire A
Ullapool Highland A
Western Isles Comhairle nan Eilean Siar B
Wick Highland A



Back to top