Single-use disposable cups: EPECOM recommendations

The first report from Expert Panel on Environmental Charging and Other Measures (EPECOM) sets out its recommendations to tackle the dependence on, and environmental impact of, single-use disposable beverage cups in Scotland.

Annex A: Biographies of Panel Members 

Dame Sue Bruce (Chair)
Sue Bruce served in Local Government for almost 40 years, finishing in 2015. Sue is now retired but has a number of roles, including: a non-executive director with SSE PLC; Chair of Royal Scottish National Orchestra (RSNO); a Deputy Lieutenant of the City of Edinburgh; and a member of the Audit Committee of the University of Strathclyde.

Professor Margaret Bates
Professor of Sustainable Wastes Management at the University of Northampton. 

Professor Liam Delaney
Professor of Economics at University College Dublin and Visiting Professor of Economics at Stirling University. 

Roger Kilburn
Appointed CEO of IBioIC in January 2014. His background is within the chemical and fine chemicals sectors. Roger sits on a number of steering groups/boards and is a guest lecturer at Heriot Watt University. 

Professor Kate Sang
Professor of Gender and Employment Studies at Heriot Watt University. 

Professor Aileen McHarg
Professor of Public Law at the University of Strathclyde since 2012. 

Professor Dame Theresa Marteau
Director of the Behaviour and Health Research Unit in the Clinical School at the University of Cambridge, and Director of Studies in Psychological and Behavioural Sciences at Christ’s College, Cambridge. 

Gemma Stenhouse
Gemma is currently an Advanced Supply Chain Manager with APUC and a member of the 2050 Climate Group.



Back to top