Refocused school nurse role: early adopter evaluation

Evaluation of two early adopter sites (Dumfries and Galloway and Perth and Kinross) for a refocused role for school nursing.


The Directorate for the Chief Nursing Officer, Scottish Government funded this evaluation. We are particularly grateful to Julia Egan and Alix Rosenberg for their advice and support throughout the evaluation.

We thank Joan Wilson (Chief Nurse - Children & Families Directorate, NHS Tayside) and Pamela McQuaker (Nurse Manager, Child and Public Health Nursing, D&G) for granting us the opportunity to undertake this evaluation at their sites. Our thanks also go to Lesley Paterson (Team Leader, Community Nurse, NHS Tayside) and Debbie Smith (Senior Nurse, School Nursing and GIRFEC Officer, D&G) who coordinated recruitment of participants and data collection for the evaluation. We also appreciate all the comments on earlier drafts of the report by members of the CYPF Nursing Advisory Group. Finally, we would like to offer a special thank you to the participants for taking part in the evaluation.

SCPHRP core funding is from the Medical Research Council and the Scottish Chief Scientist Office.


Email: Gillian Overton,

Phone: 0300 244 4000 – Central Enquiry Unit

The Scottish Government
St Andrew's House
Regent Road

Back to top