Climate loss and damage: practical action

The report is a synthesis of different views and analyses of practical action for addressing climate loss and damage. It considers mobilising and innovative finance, assessing needs and delivering actions.


This report follows the conference Addressing Loss and Damage: Practical Action hosted by the Scottish Government on 11 and 12 October 2022 in collaboration with the UN High-Level Champions and the Global Resilience Partnership. Thank you to our partners and to all those who contributed to the conference as plenary speakers, case study presenters and moderators, and note takers.

The report has been produced by the Scottish Government in collaboration with International Institute for Environment and Development. Our particular thanks to Simon Anderson and colleagues Simon Addison, Ritu Bharadwaj, and Douwe van Schie from IIED for their work.

We also wish to thank Tessa Ferry and David Howlett, Climate Champions Team; Nathanial Matthews and Albert Norström, Global Resilience Partnership; Erin Roberts, Loss & Damage Collaboration; Julie-Anne Richards; Leia Achampong, Eurodad, for their contributions to this report.

Vital thanks to all those who contributed case studies to the conference and this report:

Teresa Anderson, ActionAid; Jackeline Angulo, WFP; Kristen Arnold, WFP; Christopher Bartlett, Government of Vanuatu; Sachin Bhoite, C40; Line Christensen, Jubilee Scotland; Sarah Colenbrander, ODI; Ciara Commins, SCIAF; Dayna Connolly, CIFF; Florence Crick, IIED; Ayesha Dinshaw, CJRF; Rowan Douglas, Willis Towers Watson; Mathieu Dubreuil, WFP; Jeannette Fernandez Castro, UNDP; Michael Franczak, International Peace Institute; Archie Gilmour, ODI; Lucy Hayes, E3G; Barbara Rosen Jacobson, Zurich Flood Resilience Alliance; Tahseen Jafry, Mary Robinson Centre for Climate Justice; Jan Kellett, UNDP; Michael Kourabas, UUSC; Sönke Kreft, Munich Climate Insurance Initiative; Gernot Laganda, WFP; Jamie Livingstone, Oxfam Scotland; Adrian Martinez, La Ruta del Clima; Jesse Mason, WFP; Heather McGray, CJRF; Colin McQuistan, Practical Action; Afsara Binte Mirza, ICCCAD; Dennis Mombauer, SLYCAN Trust; Eva Peace Mukayiranga, Loss & Damage Youth Coalition; Maggie Ngwira, Trocaire; Victor Orindi, NDMA; Golam Rabbani, BRAC; Rawnak Jahan Khan Ranon, IIED; Simon Schwall, OKO; Moumita Sen, Helvetas Swiss Intercooperation; Sunayana Sen, Resurgence; Rajesh Sharma, UNDP; Alan Smith, formerly HSBC; Salote Soqo, UUSC; Shandelle Steadman, ODI; Mamadou Ndong Touré, Conseil Départemental de Gossas, Senegal; Charlene Watson, ODI; Pubudini Wickramaratne, Oxfam International; Vositha Wijenayake, SLYCAN Trust; Emily Wilkinson, ODI; Astrid Zwick, InsuResilience.

A final thank you to the Climate Justice team and the wider International Climate Change Team in the Scottish Government: Georgina Belk, Emma Fenton, Jemima Gordon-Duff, Alice Guinan, Ruth Mattock, Thomas Murphy, Katie Ogilvie, Eilidh Shearer and Jeanne Spillane.



Back to top