Poverty in rural Scotland: evidence review

This report reviews current evidence and research on rural poverty in Scotland


1. Only includes pupils based in mainstream local authority schools with the following stages: P5, P6, P7, S1, S2, S3 S4, S5 ,S6. All pupils in P1-P3 receive free school meals under the universal provision. All P4 pupils in Glasgow City, Inverclyde and 10 schools in South Ayrshire recieve FSM under local initiatives to expand eligibility.

2. This research uses the fourfold RESAS classification (Scottish Government, 2018) which distinguishes local authorities according to their level of rurality based on key variables, such as population size and age, access to services in the least and the most deprived areas and broadband connectivity. It categorises Scotland's 32 local authorities into four groups:

  • Larger Cities: Glasgow, Edinburgh, Aberdeen and Dundee Cities;
  • Urban with Substantial Rural: North Lanarkshire, Fife, South Lanarkshire, West Lothian, Renfrewshire, Falkirk, East Renfrewshire, Inverclyde, West Dunbartonshire, Midlothian, North Ayrshire, East Dunbartonshire and Stirling
  • Mainly Rural: East Ayrshire, Aberdeenshire, Clackmannanshire, East Lothian, South Ayrshire, Moray, Angus, Perth and Kinross, Highland, Dumfries and Galloway and Scottish Borders.
  • Islands and Remote Rural: Argyll and Bute, Shetland Islands, Orkney Islands and Na h-Eileanan Siar.


Email: socialresearch@gov.scot

Back to top