Personalising Realistic Medicine: Chief Medical Officer for Scotland's Annual Report 2017-2018

The Chief Medical Officer's fourth annual report on Realistic Medicine, with a focus here on the principle of Building a Personalised Approach to Care.


Editorial Team

Dr Stephen Fenning – Editor-in-chief; Scottish Clinical Leadership Fellow with the Chief Medical Officer and Healthcare Improvement Scotland; Specialty Registrar in Palliative Medicine, NHS Scotland

Dr Gregor Smith – Deputy Chief Medical Officer, Scottish Government

Craig Bell – Realistic Medicine Team Leader, Scottish Government

Dr Helen Mackie – Realistic Medicine National Clinical Advisor, Scottish Government

Alix Rosenberg – Health and Social Care Researcher, Scottish Government

Mary Hucker – Realistic Medicine Senior Policy Manager, Scottish Government

Lauren Glen – Realistic Medicine Policy Manager, Scottish Government

Guest Contributors

Professor Victor Montori – Professor of Medicine, Mayo Clinic, Minnesota, USA and Chair of the Board, The Patient Revolution

Professor Michael West – Professor of Organisational Psychology, Lancaster University Management School and Senior Visiting Fellow, The King’s Fund

Dr Peter Homa – Chair, NHS Leadership Academy

Dr Jocelyn Cornwell – Chief Executive of The Point of Care Foundation

Contributors from Scotland

Dr Ewan Bell – Associate Medical Director and Consultant Biochemist, NHS Dumfries and Galloway

Dr Jo Bowden – Consultant in Palliative Medicine, NHS Fife

Paul Bowie – Programme Director (Safety and Improvement), NHS Education for Scotland

Dr Steinunn Boyce – Consultant in Palliative Medicine, NHS Fife

Dr Bob Caslake – Consultant Geriatrician, Aberdeen City Health and Social Care Partnership

Katie Cuthbertson – Director of Modern Outpatient Programme, Scottish Government

Paul Graham – Head of Spiritual Care and Wellbeing, NHS Lanarkshire

Dr Belinda Hacking – Head of Adult Psychology Services, NHS Lothian

Dr Catherine Harley – Specialty Registrar in Geriatric Medicine, NHS Lothian

Dr Graeme Hoyle – Consultant Geriatrician, Aberdeen City Health and Social Care Partnership

Mark Johnstone – Head of Chief Medical Officer’s Business Unit, Scottish Government

Kirsty MacInnes – Sister Midwife, NHS Forth Valley

Shaun Maher – Strategic Advisor for Person Centred Care and Quality Improvement, Scottish Government

Jackie Malcolm, Senior Lecturer in Communication Design, University of Dundee

Dr James Marple – Primary Care/Systems Physician, NHS Lothian

Graham McGowan – Principal Information Analyst, ISD Scotland

Dr John Mitchell – Principal Medical Officer, Mental Health Directorate, Scottish Government

Dr Julia Mitchell – Project Coordinator, NHS Dumfries and Galloway

Clare Morrison – Senior Clinical Quality Lead, NHS Highland

Dr Edile Murdoch – Clinical Director of Obstetrics and Neonatology, NHS Lothian

Ms Juliette Murray – Consultant Surgeon, NHS Lanarkshire

Richard Norris – Honorary Fellow, School of Social and Political Science, University of Edinburgh

Mr Simon Paterson-Brown – Consultant General and Upper Gastrointestinal Surgeon, NHS Lothian

Dr Sue Payne – Consultant in Public Health, Scottish Government

Erica Reid – Associate Director of Nursing and Allied Health Professionals, NHS Borders

Jennifer Rodgers – Chief Nurse for Paediatric and Neonatal Services, NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde

Mr Lech Rymaszewski – Consultant Orthopaedic Surgeon, NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde

Dr Robby Steel – Consultant Liaison Psychiatrist, NHS Lothian

Dr Shobhan Thakore, Consultant in Emergency Medicine, NHS Tayside

Vicki Tully – Teaching Lead for Patient Safety, NHS Tayside

Margaret Whoriskey – Head of Technology Enabled Care and Digital Healthcare Innovation, Scottish Government



Back to top