National Taskforce for Human Rights: leadership report

The report and recommendations of the National Taskforce for Human Rights Leadership.

Annex B: Taskforce, Working Group and Academic Advisory Panel Members

Taskforce Members

Name Title Role
Shirley-Anne Somerville Cabinet Secretary for Social Security and Older People Government Co-Chair
Professor Alan Miller Professor of Practice in Human Rights Law, University of Strathclyde and Independent Expert with UNDP Crisis Response Independent Co-chair
Christina McKelvie Minister for Older People and Equalities Portfolio Minister with responsibility for Human Rights
Alastair Pringle Executive Director Legal, Compliance and Scotland Equality and Human Rights Commission Member representing EHRC Scotland
Claire Sweeney Director for Place and Wellbeing Member representing Public Health Scotland
Councillor Kelly Parry Councillor and COSLA's spokesperson for Community Wellbeing Member representing COSLA
Fiona Killen Solicitor Member representing Law Society of Scotland
Judith Robertson Chair, Scottish Human Rights Commission Member representing the Scottish Human Rights Commission
Mhairi Snowden Director, Human Rights Consortium Scotland Member representing the Consortium and civil society interests
Murray Hunt Director of the Bingham Centre for the Rule of Law and Visiting Professor in Human Rights Law, University of Oxford Independent member
Nils Mui┼żnieks *Nils was unable to attend a number of meetings but provided consultation to Professor Miller throughout. Director, Europe Regional Office, Amnesty International and Former Commissioner for Human Rights, Council of Europe Independent member
Professor Elisa Morgera Professor of Global Environmental Law, Strathclyde Law School, and member of the Strathclyde Centre for Environmental Law and Governance Independent member

Working Group Members

Name Title Role
Elizabeth Oldcorn Health Improvement Manager, Public Health Scotland Working Group Member
Katy Nisbet Independent legal consultant Working Group Member
Kavita Chetty Head of Strategy and Legal, Scottish Human Rights Commission Working Group Member
Kenny Stewart Equality and Human Rights Commission Working Group Member
Luis Felipe Yanes Legal Policy Development Officer, Scottish Human Rights Commission Working Group Member
Lynn Welsh Head of Legal and Compliance, Equality and Human Rights Commission Working Group Member
Michael P Clancy OBE Director Law Reform The Law Society of Scotland and Working Group Member
Mirren Kelly Policy Manager, COSLA Working Group Member

Academic Advisory Panel

Name Title Role
Professor Nicole Busby University of Glasgow. Professor of Human Rights, Equality and Justice Chair
Dr Elaine Webster Senior Lecturer, University of Strathclyde Law School. Specialism: the concept of human dignity in human rights law Member
Dr Kasey McCall-Smith Senior Lecturer in Public International Law, University of Edinburgh. Specialism: the international human rights treaty system Member
Dr Katie Boyle Associate Professor of International Human Rights Law, University of Stirling. Specialism: models of incorporation of economic, social and cultural rights/ access to justice and effective remedies Member
Professor Tobias Lock Jean Monnet Chair in EU Law and Fundamental Rights, Maynooth University, Ireland. Specialism: EU Law and the Charter of Fundamental Rights Member



Back to top