The National Plan for Scotland's Islands

The National Islands Plan provides a framework for action in order to meaningfully improve outcomes for island communities. This replaces the proposed plan published in October 2019.

Annex A: Duties in Relation to Island Communities: Relevant Authorities (introduced by section 7(2) of the Islands (Scotland) Act 2018)

Scottish Administration

1. Scottish Ministers
2. Keeper of the Records of Scotland
3. Keeper of the Registers of Scotland
4. Registrar General of Births, Deaths and Marriages for Scotland

Scottish public authorities with mixed functions or no reserved functions

5. Accounts Commission for Scotland
6. Audit Scotland
7. Bòrd na Gàidhlig
8. Caledonian Maritime Assets Limited (company number SC001854)
9. Children’s Hearings Scotland
10. Creative Scotland
11. Crofting Commission
12. Crown Estate Scotland (Interim Management)
13. David MacBrayne Limited (company number SC015304)
14. Highlands and Islands Airports Limited (company number SC097647)
15. Highlands and Islands Enterprise
16. Historic Environment Scotland
17. The Local Government Boundary Commission for Scotland
18. Mental Welfare Commission for Scotland
19. Mobility and Access Committee for Scotland
20. Scottish Children’s Reporter Administration
21. Scottish Courts and Tribunals Service
22. Scottish Enterprise
23. Scottish Environment Protection Agency
24. Scottish Fire and Rescue Service
25. Scottish Further and Higher Education Funding Council
26. Scottish Housing Regulator
27. Scottish Land Commission
28. Scottish Legal Aid Board
29. Scottish Natural Heritage
30. Scottish Police Authority
31. Scottish Qualifications Authority
32. Scottish Social Services Council
33. Scottish Sports Council
34. Scottish Water
35. Skills Development Scotland Co. Ltd (company number SC202659)
36. Social Care and Social Work Improvement Scotland
37. VisitScotland

Health Boards (including Special Health Boards)

38. Common Services Agency for the Scottish Health Service
39. Healthcare Improvement Scotland
40. NHS 24
41. NHS Ayrshire and Arran
42. NHS Borders
43. NHS Dumfries and Galloway
44. NHS Education for Scotland
45. NHS Fife
46. NHS Forth Valley
47. NHS Grampian
48. NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde
49. NHS Health Scotland
50. NHS Highland
51. NHS Lanarkshire
52. NHS Lothian
53. NHS National Waiting Times Centre
54. NHS Orkney
55. NHS Shetland
56. NHS Tayside
57. NHS Western Isles
58. Scottish Ambulance Service
59. State Hospitals Board for Scotland

Integration Joint Boards

60. An integration joint board established by virtue of section 9 of the Public Bodies (Joint Working) (Scotland) Act 2014

Local Government

61. Argyll and Bute Council
62. Comhairle nan Eilean Siar
63. Highland Council
64. North Ayrshire Council
65. Orkney Council
66. Shetland Council

Regional Colleges

67. Ayrshire Regional College
68. University of the Highlands and Islands

Regional Transport Partnerships

69. Highlands and Islands Regional Transport Partnership
70. Shetland Regional Transport Partnership
71. Strathclyde Regional Transport Partnership



Back to top