Publication - Advice and guidance

Multi-Agency Public Protection Arrangements (MAPPA):national guidance 2016

Published: 3 Mar 2016
Safer Communities Directorate
Part of:
Law and order

Ministerial guidance to responsible authorities on the discharge of their obligations under section 10 of the Management of Offenders etc. (Scotland) Act 2005.

Multi-Agency Public Protection Arrangements (MAPPA):national guidance 2016
MAPPA Annex 2

MAPPA Annex 2

Government Security Classifications

Government Security Classifications

The security classifications help with identifying and working with information of different sensitivities. The new classifications are a simplified and more cost-effective approach, with increased emphasis on risk management and judgement.

The OFFICIAL security classification is for the majority of government business and public service delivery, including information that is sensitive and must not be shared freely.

A small amount of OFFICIAL information is of a particularly sensitive nature, this is information where loss or disclosure would have damaging consequences for your organisation, government or cause significant distress for an individual or group of people. It is important that we are able to identify this type of information quickly and easily so that it can be protected appropriately. Sensitive OFFICIAL information should always be clearly marked as: OFFICIAL-SENSITIVE.

There are two further security classifications, SECRET and TOP SECRET, that are used for highly sensitive information relating to defence, diplomacy or national security.

Further information on the government security classifications can be found via the following link: