Fair Work First: grants awarded
Data on public sector grants requiring employers to comply with Fair Work First conditionality.
2023 to 2024
This data focuses on the first year of the policy's implementation.
We contacted 127 public bodies and 32 local councils across Scotland to request data on grants awarded between July 2023 and March 2024. Overall, 50 responses were received from across the public sector, of which 27 reported awarding no relevant grants during this period.
Key findings
Between July 2023 and March 2024:
- 3,914 grants were awarded with combined value of £2,671.4 million
- exceptions were approved across a number of sectors, with most covering only part of an organisation's workforce
- grant in aid and non-discretionary funding are not included, as conditionality does not apply to these
Some organisations may use Scottish Government funding to award further grants, so total figures may include double-counting.
Detailed breakdown
Table 1: Breakdown of grants awarded and exceptions approved in period 1 July 2023 to 31 March 2024
|
Category |
Number |
Value (£ million) |
|---|---|---|
|
Grants awarded |
3,914 | 2,671.4 |
|
Exceptions to the real Living Wage condition approved |
199 | 272.4 |
|
Declined exception requests |
12 |
n/a |
Source: Scottish Government request for information from funding organisations across the public sector in Scotland (May 2024)
Note: n/a - not applicable
Table 2: Breakdown of organisations with an approved exception by sector
| Sector | Number |
|---|---|
|
Public |
24 |
|
Private |
52 |
|
Third sector |
16 |
|
Not reported |
50 |
|
Total |
142 |
Source: Scottish Government request for information from funding organisations across the public sector in Scotland (May 2024)
Note: an organisation may receive more than one exception
Table 3: Breakdown of approved exceptions for parts and whole of the workforce
| Workforce | Number |
|---|---|
| Part | 145 |
| Whole | 1 |
| Not reported | 53 |
Source: Scottish Government request for information from funding organisations across the public sector in Scotland (May 2024)