Publication - Advice and guidance

Contents
Decision-making: children and young people's participation
Academic contacts

Academic contacts

There are researchers in Scotland working on children and young people’s participation in decision-making.  The following are happy to be contacted for further information and reading material.

Dr Catherine Bovill

Senior Lecturer in Student Engagement, Institute for Academic Development, University of Edinburgh.
Research interests: Co-created curriculum; student-staff partnership; participation; voice; student-staff relationships

Key publications:

Email: Catherine.bovill@ed.ac.uk

Dr Claire Cassidy

Reader, School of Education, University of Strathclyde.
Research interests: philosophy with children; children’s human rights; human rights education; children and childhood; children’s participation and citizenship

Key publications:

Email: claire.cassidy@strath.ac.uk

Dr Greg Mannion

Senior Lecturer, Faculty of Social Sciences (Education), University of Stirling.
Research interests:  Young people's participation; place and participation; intergenerational dialogue

Key publications:

Email: gbgm1@stir.ac.uk

Professor Kate Wall

Professor of Education, University of Strathclyde.
Research interests: democratic spaces for learning; practitioner voice; children and young people’s voice

Key publications:

Email: Kate.Wall@Strath.ac.uk

Childhood and Youth Studies Research Group

Moray House School of Education and Sport, University of Edinburgh.
Staff with particular interests in children and young people’s participation include: Dr Ian Fyfe, Dr Kristina Konstantoni, Dr Marlies Kustatscher, Dr Lynn McNair, Dr Mary Ann Powell, Professor Kay Tisdall.

Research interests: children and young people’s participation; children’s human rights; ethics and methodologies of direct engagement with children and young people; early years; youth; equalities and intersectionality.

Key publications:

 Email addresses: ian.fyfe@ed.ac.uk; kristina.konstantoni@ed.ac.uk; Marlies.Kustatscher@ed.ac.uk; Mary.Ann.Powell@ed.ac.uk; k.tisdall@ed.ac.uk


Contact

ChildrensRightsandParticipation@gov.scot