Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease (COPD): best practice guide

This document is for healthcare professionals and patients to show how this condition could be best managed from the unscheduled care perspective.

COPD Working Group - Membership




Jacques Kerr (Chair)

National Advisor

Scottish Government

Alan Monahan

Policy Officer

Scottish Government

Amanda Fox

Programme Manager, LTC

Edinburgh HSCP

Blythe Robertson

Policy Manager and ACP Lead

Scottish Government

David Anderson

Consultant Resp Physician


Elaine Paton

Lead Pharmacist


Fiona MacKenzie

Service Manager


Gourab Choudhury

Consultant Resp Physician

NHS Lothian

Irene Johnstone

Head for Scotland and NI

British Lung Foundation

John Sandbach

Senior Nurse Clinical Development

NHS 24

Kerry Mathewson

GP Advisor

Scottish Government

Laura Groom

Advanced Physiotherapy Practitioner

Lothian Community Resp Team

Marianne Milligan

Team Leader


Phyllis Murphie

Resp Nurse Consultant & MCN Lead

NHS Dumfries and Galloway

Syed Kerbalai

Programme Manager

Scottish Government

Tim Warren

Team Leader, Palliative and End-of-Life Care

Scottish Government

Tom Fardon

Resp Physician & Chair of Lung Health NAG

NHS Tayside

Alan Hunter

Director of Performance and Delivery

Scottish Government

Alison Strath

Principal Pharmaceutical Officer

Scottish Government

Helen Maitland

Unscheduled Care Director

Scottish Government

Tracy Slater

Business Manager

Scottish Government

Annabel Howell

Associate Med Director and Palliative Care Cons

NHS Borders

Claire Ritchie

National AHP Lead for Older People

NHS Lanarkshire

Callum Johnston

Area Service Manager and Urgent Care Lead

Scottish Ambulance Service

Dahrlene Tough

Consultant Paramedic

Scottish Ambulance Service

Kenny Freeburn

Tayside Lead

Scottish Ambulance Service

Gillian Gunn

Team Leader

Planning and Quality

David McIlhinney


Scottish Government

COPD Sub Groups

A. Reducing hospital admissions/readmissions

Chair: Dave Anderson and Gourab Choudhury

B. Scottish Ambulance Service

Chair: Kenny Freeburn,

Support: Callum Johnston and Dahrlene Tough

C. NHS 24/Telehealth

Chair: John Sandbach

D. Palliative Care/ ACP

Chair: Blythe Robertson and Tim Warren


1. Each subgroup will report to the Full Group and its chair on a regular basis.

2. The subgroups will meet monthly over the duration of the COPD group's lifetime; the full group will meet every three months. On the occasion that the Chair cannot attend a Deputy Chair must be in attendance.


1. Secretariat to the Review and responsibility for coordinating the work of the working groups will be provided by a team within the Unscheduled Care Division in the Directorate for Performance and Delivery.


Email: Syed Kerbalai

Phone: 0300 244 4000 – Central Enquiry Unit

The Scottish Government
St Andrew's House
Regent Road

Back to top