Building a New Scotland: citizenship in an independent Scotland

This paper sets out the Scottish Government’s proposals for citizenship in an independent Scotland.

Acronyms and definitions

CTA - Common Travel Area - Administrative agreement allowing free movement within the UK, Ireland, Channel Islands and Isle of Man, with associated reciprocal rights for British and Irish citizens.

EEA - European Economic Area - Area covered by an agreement to extend the EU single market to Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein.

EES - Entry/Exit System - Automated system for registering travellers from third countries each time they cross an EU external border.

EFTA - European Free Trade Association - Regional trade organisation comprising Norway, Iceland, Liechtenstein and Switzerland.

ETIAS - European Travel Information and Authorisation System - Electronic pre-travel authorisation scheme for visa-free travellers to the Schengen zone due to be implemented in 2024.

EU - European Union - "EU citizen" can in most instances be taken to also refer to EEA and Swiss nationals and eligible third country family members.

EUSS EU - Settlement Scheme - Scheme implemented by the Home Office granting legal status to EU citizens permitting them to remain in the UK after Brexit.

IMA - Independent Monitoring Authority - Independent body established following the EU-UK Withdrawal Agreement to protect the rights of EU citizens in the UK.

NHS - National Health Service

UK - United Kingdom

USA - United States of America



Back to top