Publication - Progress report

Welfare reform: annual report 2018

Published: 1 Oct 2018

This report discusses recent UK Government reforms of the welfare system and the effects of these reforms on people in Scotland.

59 page PDF

1.3 MB

59 page PDF

1.3 MB

Welfare reform: annual report 2018

59 page PDF

1.3 MB



2CL – The Two Child Limit, which removed the ability for most families to claim Universal Credit or Tax Credits for more than two children if the child was born after 6 April 2017.

AHC – After Housing Costs

APA - Alternative Payment Arrangements

CTB – Council Tax Benefit

CTR – Council Tax Reduction

DHP – Discretionary Housing Payments

DLA – Disability Living Allowance

DWP – Department for Work and Pensions

EHRC – Equality and Human Rights Commission

ESA – Employment and Support Allowance. May be income-related or contributory.

GDP – Gross Domestic Product

HB – Housing Benefit

HMRC – Her Majesty’s Revenue and Customs

IS – Income Support

JSA – Jobseeker’s allowance. May be income-based ( IB) or contributions-based ( CB).

LHA – Local Housing Allowance

MIF – Minimum Income Floor

OBR – Office for Budget Responsibility

PIP – Personal Independence Payment

RF – Resolution Foundation

SDP – Severe Disability Premium

SE – Surplus Earnings

SSAC – Social Security Advisory Committee

SWF – Scottish Welfare Fund

TC – Tax Credits. May be Child Tax Credits ( CTC) or Working Tax Credits ( WTC).

TP - Transitional Protection

UC – Universal Credit

WRAG – Work-Related Activity Group