Tourism and Hospitality Industry Leadership Group


The Tourism and Hospitality Industry Leadership Group (ILG) has been established to support, grow and realise the potential of Scotland’s tourism and hospitality sectors.

The group combines leadership, collaboration and partnership and will drive industry, Scottish Ministers and agencies on how to achieve the long term vision and outcomes outlined in the national tourism strategy, ‘Scotland Outlook 2030: Responsible Tourism For A Sustainable Future’. This is to be seen within the wider context of our 10-year National Strategy for Economic Transformation (NSET).


The group provides a collaborative strategic forum which:

  • enables leaders from across the tourism and hospitality community to engage with each other, government and its agencies in an effective and joined up way on the strategic opportunities and issues of relevance in achieving the vision and outcomes of the national tourism strategy, Scotland Outlook 2030 and the NSET priorities
  • provides key stakeholders with the opportunity to highlight the strategic actions and support required to ensure the economic, social and cultural contribution of tourism and hospitality in Scotland is maximised
  • allows the tourism and hospitality community, government and its agencies to assess high level progress in the achievement of the vision and key outcomes of the national strategy and contribution to NSET and to gain insight to those global and regional mega trends which will drive future direction and response
  • ensures a mechanism for genuine partnership working between the tourism and hospitality community, government and its agencies to generate and share creative ideas and solutions which will allow tourism and hospitality to flourish and create jobs across all parts of the country, contributing to the ambitions and delivery programmes of NSET



  • Richard Lochhead MSP, Minister for Small Business, Innovation and Trade
  • Marc Crothall, Chief Executive, Scottish Tourism Alliance
  • Judy Rae, Vice Chair, OnFife Cultural Trust

Organisation members

  • Scottish Enterprise
  • South of Scotland Enterprise
  • Highlands and Islands Enteprise
  • VisitScotland
  • Scottish Tourism Alliance
  • Scottish Government
  • Skills Development Scotland
  • Unite

Industry members

Industry members are appointed as individuals and not as representatives of companies or organisations.

  • Aileen Crawford, Glasgow Life
  • Andrea Nicholas, Green Business UK Ltd/Green Tourism Certification Programme
  • Barbara Smith, Diageo
  • Benjamin Carey, Carey Tourism
  • Calum Ross, Loch Melfort Hotel Ltd/Highlands and Islands Enterprise/Red Roof Business Support Ltd
  • Carron Tobin, RuralDimensions Ltd
  • Chris O’Brien, Nevis Range
  • Chris Greenwood, Moffat Centre for Travel and Tourism Business Development Glasgow School for Business and Society Glasgow Caledonian University
  • Debbie Johnson, IHG Hotels and Resorts
  • Joshua Ryan-Saha, Traveltech for Scotland TourismTech at Edinburgh Futures Insititute (University of Edinburgh)
  • Joss Croft, UKinbound
  • Judy Rae, OnFife Cultural Trust
  • Kat Brogan, Mercat Tours and Mercat Tours International
  • Kelly Johnstone, The Springboard Charity
  • Leon Thompson, UKHospitality Scotland
  • Melanie Allen, Chair, Galloway and Southern Ayrshire UNESCO Biosphere/owner, Nithbank Country Estate
  • Michael Golding, Visit Inverness Loch Ness
  • Russell Murray, Wilderness Group/Wilderness Scotland
  • Stephen Duncan, Historic Environment Scotland


Back to top