Scottish Ministerial Working Group on Tobacco Control


The Scottish Ministerial Working Group on Tobacco Control is a departmental working group chaired by Joe Fitzpatrick, Minister for Public Health, Sport and Wellbeing.

Its remit is to:

  • provide expert advice to the Scottish Government on tobacco control acting as a forum for the development of policy to reduce the impact of tobacco on Scotland’s health
  • monitor and support the implementation of national policies, legislative controls and related national strategies / action plans
  • provide a forum for the dissemination of best practice


The group has two sub-groups to concentrate on specific categories of work:

Previous minutes are available in our website archive. 


Name Organisation
Joe Fitzpatrick (Chairperson) Minister for Public Health, Sport and Wellbeing
Professor Amanda Amos University of Edinburgh
Irene Johnstone British Lung Foundation
Professor Linda Bauld  University of Stirling
Professor Sally Haw University of Stirling
Sheila Duffy ASH Scotland
Anna Bennett Young Scot
Dawn Adamson Society of Chief Officers of Trading Standards in Scotland 
Dr James Cant British Heart Foundation
Adam Osprey CPS
Dr Alison McCallum NHS Lothian
Craig Somers Chief Officers of Environmental Health Group
Dr Andrew Fraser NHS Health Scotland
Professor Gerard Hastings University of Stirling 
Gregor McNie Cancer UK
Erin Robertson British Medical Association
Moyra Burns NHS Lothian
Paul Waterson Scottish Licensed Trade Association 
Pete Cheema Scottish Grocers Federation
Gillian Bruce NHS Forth Valley
David Woodrow National Federation of Retail Newsagents (Scotland) 
Garrick Smyth COSLA
John Lee Scottish Grocers Federation
Scottish Government officials:  
Morris Fraser The Scottish Government
Elaine Mitchell The Scottish Government
John Glen The Scottish Government
Stephen Young The Scottish Government