Digital Identity Scotland Expert Group



To provide expert advice to inform the design, direction and prioritisation of the Scottish Government's Digital Identity Scotland Programme. Realising Scotland's full potential in a digital world: a digital strategy for Scotland is committed to work with stakeholders, privacy interests and members of the public to develop a robust, secure and trustworthy mechanism by which people can demonstrate their identity online to access digital public services.

The group was formerly known as the Online Identity Assurance Expert Group.

Roles and responsibilities

  • to provide expert advice to inform the overall work to identify the potential options and develop the solution or solutions for a common approach to Digital Identity 

  • to advise the Programme Board and National Stakeholder Group on the content and direction of the programme, from a technical, legal, privacy, legislative framework and GDPR perspective

  • to comment on the emergent findings from the programme phases, including the Discovery project, and planned Alpha and Beta phases, informing the direction and planning for subsequent parts of the programme, and plans for longer term implementation

  • to highlight connected issues and wider impacts; including identifying where there are links across the landscape and direction for identity assurance and digital public service delivery and contributing to the development of a solution or solutions that can evolve and flex with changes that occur in the future (future proofing)


  • members will bring their subject matter expertise to the work, rather than attend in order to represent a particular organisation or sector impacted by the programme (which is a responsibility of the National Stakeholder Group). The exception to this is the Information Commissioner's Office (ICO) place on the group

  • as members participate as individuals (with the exception of ICO), alternatives or delegates should only be considered in exceptional cases and only if they are able to bring a similar level of expertise

  • members and meeting attendees will be asked to declare any potential conflict of interests that they might have at each meeting and a log of these interests will be kept.

  • the expectation is that this work will be conducted in the spirit and practice of open government. This includes proactive sharing of meeting agendas and minutes. The group will also consider public sharing of individual substantive papers and documentation

  • the group will aim to meet at least quarterly, although may amend its schedule of meetings to fit the needs of the programme

  • the group will be supported by the Scottish Government Digital Identity Scotland Team

Related groups


Name Organisation Nominated alternate
Gavin McLachlan (Chair) University of Edinburgh
Colin Birchenall Local Government Digital Office
Abbe Brown Aberdeen University
Neil Campbell Scottish Government Digital Directorate
Adam Cooper Independent Expert
Robert Clubb Improvement Service
Yvonne Dunn Pinsent Masons
Jerry Fishenden Independent Expert
Nicola Graham SOCITM (Society for IT Practitioners in the Public Sector)
Robert McKechnie Equifax
Charles Raab Director of Centre for Research into Information Surveillance and Privacy (CRISP) and University of Edinburgh
Matthew Rice Open Rights Group
Hannah Rudman Wallet Services
James Varga The ID Company
Ken Macdonald Information Commissioner's Office Maureen Falconer




Back to top