Publication - Corporate report

Transforming Nursing, Midwifery And Health Profession (NMaHP) roles: review of Clinical Nurse Specialist and Nurse Practitioner roles within Scotland

Published: 5 Aug 2021
Chief Nursing Officer Directorate
Part of:
Health and social care

The report of the Short Life Working Group (SLWG) set up by the Chief Nursing Officer (CNO) to review the role of the Clinical Nurse Specialist as part of the Transforming Roles Programme, and improve national consistency in Scotland for Clinical Nurse Specialist and Specialist Practitioner roles.

Transforming Nursing, Midwifery And Health Profession (NMaHP) roles: review of Clinical Nurse Specialist and Nurse Practitioner roles within Scotland
Annex J Criteria for reporting against specialisms

Annex J Criteria for reporting against specialisms

Work has commenced, in partnership with NES and ISD to consider how the quality and accuracy of reporting nursing and health profession roles can be improved.

The table below highlights progress to date, outlining the suggested overarching categories for the grouping of nursing and other health professions for recording purposes moving forward. The aim of this work is to improve consistency of reporting and enable services to monitor growth or reduction in CNS workforce numbers over time. It should also help reduce the number of specialist nurses who are currently categorised as 'other'.

The categories below do not represent an exhaustive list. Work is in progress to map posts against the headings and it is expected that additional service areas/specialties will be added at a later date. The reporting of roles against new criteria has been tested and could be used for other professional groups e.g. allied health professionals or physician-associate roles. It should be noted that with some highly specialised areas, such as within National Services Scotland, there may be specific roles that should be reviewed against these definitions and recording in the widest sense of the role to support effective cross service mapping.

Improvements to the overall reporting of roles will enable services to access information on level of practice, area of practice, pay bands and identify whether staff work in acute or community-based services. Higher-level reporting categories will remain as they are currently: Adult, Paediatric, Maternity/Obstetrics, Mental Health and Learning Disability.

Service Area/Speciality: Roles within specialty (where applicable) more sub-categories may be added in the future

  • Anaesthetics: Pain specialist, anaesthesia specialist, anaesthetic assistant
  • Allergy
  • Cardiology: Heart failure, cardiac rehabilitation, cath Lab
  • Cancer: Lung cancer, bowel cancer, pancreatic cancer, breast cancer etc
  • Dermatology
  • Dietetics/nutrition
  • Endocrine: Diabetes
  • Emergency Medicine
  • Ear, Nose and Throat
  • Forensic Medicine
  • Genetics
  • Gynaecology
  • General surgery: Stoma care, breast care
  • General Practice inc Out of Hours
  • General medicine
  • Gastroenterology
  • Haematology
  • Histopathology
  • Immunology
  • Intensive Care/HDU: General Intensive Care
  • Infectious diseases
  • Learning disability
  • Oral/Maxillofacial
  • Maternity/Obstetrics: Infant feeding advisor, Perinatal mental health
  • Muscular skeletal
  • Mental health: Drugs and alcohol, dementia
  • Neurology: Motor neurone disease, stroke, multiple sclerosis, epilepsy, Parkinson's, acquired brain injury, general neurology
  • Neurosurgery
  • Nuclear medicine/radiology
  • Neonates
  • Orthopaedics
  • Oncology
  • Ophthalmology
  • Older people: Frailty
  • Palliative care
  • Public health: Infection, prevention and control
  • Plastic surgery
  • Respiratory: Chronic obstructive pulmonary disease, asthma, long fibrosis
  • Rheumatology
  • Renal/urology
  • Sexual health
  • Theatre
  • Tropical diseases
  • Vascular diseases: Lymphoedema, tissue viability